We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$173
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Key(Auburn)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$104
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$265
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
11
20
12
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
20
12
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant optionshardwood floorswater pressuremicrowavedoglinens
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We just sold our house and need a place to stay a day ahead of schedule. Customer service was excellent. Pet friendly and didn't smell like it, yay! The bedding, linens and towels were clean. We had 2 penske trucks both with tow hook ups & our cars and their was plenty of parking. Would recommend this to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristinejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Auburn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

It's really great to hear that we were able to help you out at such a stressful time! Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you were so happy with your stay with us. We wish you the very best of luck in your new home, and we would love for you to recommend us to any family or friends you might have visiting! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I was traveling with my handicapped brother to Auburn for a funeral. We spent the night in Grants Pass. The next morning the snow was bad enough to prevent me from continuing south over the mountains. I called to cancel and was told that I would not get a refund. No refund because it's their policy. Guess I should have put my life & my brother's life in jeopardy by making the trip. I would have made the trip had Mother Nature not made the mountain pass so dangerous.

Motel 6's response & attitude was "Too, too bad for you. We're keeping your $94." No one was courteous; no one was kind; no one offered a discount coupon or a partial refund.

I will NEVER stay at a Motel 6 again. I will ALWAYS tell people to NEVER stay with this chain.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank weezersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Auburn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

We are very sorry that you were unable to reach us due to the adverse weather, and that we were unable to give you a refund. Unfortunately, we, like every hotel in the US, have a cancellation policy to protect ourselves in a situation where guests cancel their room at the last minute. We were holding your room for you, had declined to accommodate other guests, and had no opportunity to sell the room at the late stage that you cancelled, so we charged you for your room. This is exactly the same policy as the vast majority of hotel throughout the US, and indeed the world, implement. We trust that you understand our position. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I asked for a ground floor room close to pet walking area and got an excellent room. Clean, plenty of room for 3 crates. Modern, flat screen tv with good cable. Free wifi...that worked. Housekeeping checked the room each day, fresh towels, trash taken out and bed made. My window looked out over the valley that had I-80...but lots of trees and bushes pretty much hid the freeway. Room was quiet. This motel is built into a hill, so "ground floor" at one end is a 2 flights of stairs walk up at the other end...with rooms below that. Nice view facing the valley...on the other side is the hill the motel is built into. So, where your room is located can determine your experience at this motel. Starbucks right across the street as well as a Denny's. Auburn is right in the middle of "Gold Country" rich in early CA history, and many, many other tourist activities. Hiking, biking, canoeing,etc, etc, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2016

Dear Liz, we're really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable room with great amenities and friendly service, and we're really happy that's what you received. We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again - we'd love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

No doubt about it, this is a budget hotel experience: carpet-less flooring, platform beds, no bathroom amenities. But there was a small refrigerator and microwave, flat panel TV, and roomy shower stall in the bathroom. More importantly, it was clean and quiet (we were on the main level towards the rear).

Not much in the way of breakfast, but there's a Starbucks across the street and other restaurant options within a five to 10 minute drive away.

Convenient location to many area attractions and kid-friendly.

Room Tip: Our room on the main level facing the back of the property was pleasant and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PH_AlbNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2016

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We do have a really great location don't we?! We're happy to hear that everything throughout your recent stay went so smoothly, and that you had a wonderful and quiet stay overall. We think that is obviously the most important experience for any guest to have. We do hope that you make a return visit to Auburn, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I’m not a big fan of Motel 6, but it’s very affordable. I stayed here two nights. It’s just okay. It has recently been remodeled. Laminate floor, new sink counter etc… However, there is already gross stains on the walls and it was not super clean, so if housekeeping doesn’t keep it up it will not stay nice for long.

Room Tip: There is good coffee in the lobby, but if you need a little more Starbucks is right a crossed the street.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lj-OnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2016

We're delighted to hear that you liked our newly updated room - that's exactly the feedback that we wanted to hear! We're very sorry to hear that about the stain - we are investigating what happened that morning - this is not the normal service level at our hotel, and we apologize sincerely that we missed this spot. We really hope that you'll be back to stay again - we are confident that you will have a perfect experience on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews