We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn around and go to the Red Lion”
Review of Motel 6 Auburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Auburn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We booked this and turned up after travelling from LV, took one look and turned around and went to the Red Lion. It was just awful I booked a disabled room which did not have a walk in shower it was over the bath and looked terrible.

I must the receptionist was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Auburn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to your reservations issues. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short with your room and would like to apologize. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017

We just sold our house and need a place to stay a day ahead of schedule. Customer service was excellent. Pet friendly and didn't smell like it, yay! The bedding, linens and towels were clean. We had 2 penske trucks both with tow hook ups & our cars and their was plenty of parking. Would recommend this to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristinejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Auburn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

It's really great to hear that we were able to help you out at such a stressful time! Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you were so happy with your stay with us. We wish you the very best of luck in your new home, and we would love for you to recommend us to any family or friends you might have visiting! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I was traveling with my handicapped brother to Auburn for a funeral. We spent the night in Grants Pass. The next morning the snow was bad enough to prevent me from continuing south over the mountains. I called to cancel and was told that I would not get a refund. No refund because it's their policy. Guess I should have put my life & my brother's life in jeopardy by making the trip. I would have made the trip had Mother Nature not made the mountain pass so dangerous.

Motel 6's response & attitude was "Too, too bad for you. We're keeping your $94." No one was courteous; no one was kind; no one offered a discount coupon or a partial refund.

I will NEVER stay at a Motel 6 again. I will ALWAYS tell people to NEVER stay with this chain.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank weezersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Auburn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

We are very sorry that you were unable to reach us due to the adverse weather, and that we were unable to give you a refund. Unfortunately, we, like every hotel in the US, have a cancellation policy to protect ourselves in a situation where guests cancel their room at the last minute. We were holding your room for you, had declined to accommodate other guests, and had no opportunity to sell the room at the late stage that you cancelled, so we charged you for your room. This is exactly the same policy as the vast majority of hotel throughout the US, and indeed the world, implement. We trust that you understand our position. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I asked for a ground floor room close to pet walking area and got an excellent room. Clean, plenty of room for 3 crates. Modern, flat screen tv with good cable. Free wifi...that worked. Housekeeping checked the room each day, fresh towels, trash taken out and bed made. My window looked out over the valley that had I-80...but lots of trees and bushes pretty much hid the freeway. Room was quiet. This motel is built into a hill, so "ground floor" at one end is a 2 flights of stairs walk up at the other end...with rooms below that. Nice view facing the valley...on the other side is the hill the motel is built into. So, where your room is located can determine your experience at this motel. Starbucks right across the street as well as a Denny's. Auburn is right in the middle of "Gold Country" rich in early CA history, and many, many other tourist activities. Hiking, biking, canoeing,etc, etc, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2016

Dear Liz, we're really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable room with great amenities and friendly service, and we're really happy that's what you received. We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again - we'd love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

No doubt about it, this is a budget hotel experience: carpet-less flooring, platform beds, no bathroom amenities. But there was a small refrigerator and microwave, flat panel TV, and roomy shower stall in the bathroom. More importantly, it was clean and quiet (we were on the main level towards the rear).

Not much in the way of breakfast, but there's a Starbucks across the street and other restaurant options within a five to 10 minute drive away.

Convenient location to many area attractions and kid-friendly.

Room Tip: Our room on the main level facing the back of the property was pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PH_AlbNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2016

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We do have a really great location don't we?! We're happy to hear that everything throughout your recent stay went so smoothly, and that you had a wonderful and quiet stay overall. We think that is obviously the most important experience for any guest to have. We do hope that you make a return visit to Auburn, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.6 km away
Best Western Golden Key
0.1 km away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Auburn
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Surestay Plus Hotel By Best Western Rocklin
24.6 km away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
26.6 km away
Best Western Plus Orchid Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Auburn

Address: 1819 Auburn Ravine Road, I-80 at Foresthill Road, Auburn, CA 95603-3165
Region: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: €57 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Auburn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Auburn is located off I-80 at Auburn Ravine Rd/Foresthill Rd. Restaurants are within walking distance. California's vineyards and wineries are within 5 miles. Enjoy our modern rooms, outdoor pool and hot tub. Free Wi-Fi throughout the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Auburn Hotel Auburn
Motel Six Auburn
Auburn Motel Six
Auburn Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing