We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
147
64
15
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
64
15
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool big trees state park full kitchen golf course lake tahoe wine tasting washer and dryer living room logging museum bingo night free ice cream well equipped kitchen tall trees white pines fitness center nice place to stay rim trail
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

The pros are: a nice location in the mtns. It's close to a town to get supplies & Big Trees State Park is in Arnold. It's very roomy. It has a nice pool table & game room. There is also a nice size kitchen & theater room for your use. but the cons are: it's outdated, there's a $10./day fee for daily activities whether you attend or not, the fitness center was yucky, and the Internet service on the computers didn't work. Also, the very small clean pool is right inside the front door of the main office There's a glass all around it, so everyone can look in.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank june k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainR12, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

It was a very long trip from So. Calif. but the Big Trees experience was memorable. Overall, it was an OK visit. We left early as senior citizens due to the difficulty of rest at night and the only attraction that appealed to us was the Big Trees State Park.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank wtdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainR12, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for making the trip to our beautiful resort. Big Trees State Park is a Gem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Our unit had a terrific layout & is in a gorgeous location. The service was polite & prompt. The staff is wonderful & they that bent over backwards to please! There is lots to do in the area including a gold mine museum. logging museum, wineries, shopping, super restaurants, Big Trees State Park & many other historical sites. Not to mention the scenery. Truly a wonderful vacation!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank HappyTravelers4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainR12, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

We enjoyed having you on property. We are a family here at Mountain Retreat and the staff has always been the "glue" that binds us all together. It thrills us to know that our customer services practices are not going unnoticed. Thank you for the graceful review. We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Peaceful location, well placed for hiking the Arnold Rim Trail and Big Woods SP. We left and spent 2 nights in Yosemite, which was wonderful, then good to come back to our large, comfortable unit. The units are a little dated, but well maintained and spotlessly clean. Rather dark, thanks to being buried in the woods, so a few more interior lights would have been good. Very well equipped kitchen. Excellent helpful staff.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainR12, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Carol,
Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you back, winter is beautiful in Arnold.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Shelia was particularly accommodating, friendly, and cheerful at front desk. When questioned, the staff was so nice and informative. Accommodations were very large and well maintained. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this resort.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank kenneththompson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainR12, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Kenneth,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We loved you family immensely. Hope you get to visit us again. Thank you Sheila!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews