We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

If you want showers and flush toilets stay at Barton Flats or San Gorgonio campgrounds. Heart Bar is a little more secluded, no showers, no flush toilets, no sinks nor lights in the pit toilets. These are communal toilets, no His & Hers.
Heart Bar also has less traffic noise from Hwy 38 then the other two mentioned campgrounds which are very close to the main drag.
We camped two nights with our two grown daughters and four of our grand kids and two dogs. Heart Bar is a true mountain campground in the sense that if you want the feel of being in an actual wooded forest, which it is, then you will enjoy the many trees that this campground has to offer. Sites are also very spread out which helps if you have dogs and children with you and need more room to roam. There is a terrific meadow within easy walking distance and there are campsites that back right up to the slope that descends down to the meadow. There is also an equestrian center within a thirty minute walk from the campground depending on your campsite which the grand kids enjoyed going to see the horses. One horse owner even gave my 5 year old grandson a short led ride which we videoed. One remark that I also have to add is that it was nice to have the campground somewhat to ourselves and about five other scattered campers. What was sad is that so many sites were empty! Where are all the people that should be enjoying our local mountains? They are missing out on a great camping/mountain experience without having to drive to very far.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We rented double site 63 and it was beautiful. It was surrounded by tons of trees and super close to a bathroom and a water spigot. The only problem was the bathroom. It had no working lights and it was pretty smelly each morning after everyone had done their morning ablutions. The rest of the day it smelled fine though. My only warning would be that if you are prone to altitude sickness, you might want to stay clear of this beautiful campground. We had a party of 8 and 2 of our group spent the entire weekend sick. Other than that, you have to check out the meadow behind the Aspen Loop. Most of my pictures are from it and it is stunning! The wildlife we saw vibrant blue jays, chipmunks, and bats. There was a bear the week before we came but the ranger said it was the first one in 2 years.

Room Tip: double sites are huge and could easily fit 5+ large tents
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meeshapink87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

One of our favorite places to camp. The scenery is wonderful. The camp sites are well distanced from each other. The facility people are friendly. Big Bear city is close but not too close. You are definitely out in the mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I had trouble finding a place that still does 1st come/1st serve campsites near Big Bear as most locations are reservations only. Anyone who lives in SoCal knows that these places book up 1-2 years in advance leaving few/no options for those of us who want to go on a quick random weekend camping trip.

I have to say I was unsure what to expect when I first drove in here because it wasn't all that well marked from the road (HWY-38) but I was pleasantly surprised. Nice, large campsites, plenty of availability (for a non-holiday weekend), and the sites themselves were easily large enough for 3 tents.

Overall it was a great experience, only $23 per night and about 15 minutes from Big Bear if you need to get any supplies from town. Note: there are no showers but there are toilets and there is pressurized well-water for dousing your fire (not for drinking, though). Also, bear lockers are provided at each campsite so you can lock up your food items and keep it away from animals.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theOCjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014 via mobile

Great campground located in the San Bernadino mountains! Got into the area during sunset and the hosts were out around the grounds. The stopped by our site to welcome us and to complete the necessary paperwork.

We booked site 08/09 (double site) in the Sugarloaf Loop. It was double the cost of a normal site; however well worth it, especially if you are sharing the site with friends. It is like a corner spot so neighbors are a decent distance away.

Bar Heart is a great find... The bathrooms were kept clean, neighbors were mindful and the night skies were amazing. Recommend this place for a nice weekend getaway - only couple hours away from downtown San Diego!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NikAnnTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews