We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
8
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We booked the cabin from Australia and were pleasantly surprised.
The cabin had everything one needs. Very clean and "homey".
It was pure pleasure to stay there for a couple of nights right in the forest.
Unfortunately we didn't get to see the owners when we left, to thank them and let them know how happy we were.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank aeng2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My Fiancé's cousin was getting married at a YMCA camp new Angelus Oaks, CA. Not wishing to stay in a dormitory for the weekend, we chose to stay at The Lodge at Angelus Oaks which was only 10 minutes away. Since there were not many options in the area, we were not sure what to expect (we were just hoping for a clean bed and a decent shower). We called to make a reservation and the manger was extremely nice. (Be forewarned that the Lodge does not take credit cards so you will need to bring either a check or cash).

After flying into Ontario, CA and renting a car, we drove up to the bid city of Angelus Oaks (there is not much there...essentially just the lodge and a restaurant across the highway). We arrived and checked in at the main lodge. The manger was there to greet us, told us a bit of history about the Lodge, and checked us in. The owners and mangers did a great job remodeling the main lodge which had a variety of antiques and many books and family games guests could use.

Once we had checked in, we went to our cabin (#8). Please be aware that the roads to the cabins are all dirt and rocks...no pavement. This is not a big deal since we had a rental car but be sure not to drive your new car. Once we arrived to the room, we were pleasantly surprised. Our cabin had a double bed, two comfortable chairs, a bathroom with a shower, and a small kitchen. Being realistic, we knew that our cabin would not be a room in 4 Seasons Hotel. To be honest, if I had rented the same room elsewhere, I would have been upset and asked for my money back. Being out in the middle of the forest with little else around, we found the cabin be perfect for us. It was very clean, had fresh towels, and even room fresheners. They even provided us with a bottle of sparkling cider!

For those who are hoping to watch TV, please know that there are none in the cabins. The aim is to enjoy the outdoors and get away from civilization (though my Verizon signal did work up there).

The only reason that we did not give the Lodge five stars was the bed. It was very firm and we had a difficult time getting a full nights sleep. Again, we realize it is all a matter of perspective. While the bed was hard, it sure beat having to sleep in a dormitory with 30 people. :)

Room tip: Be sure not to drive your expensive new car...there are only dirt roads around the cabins
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pnwguy1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

our plan was to do an overnight stay here so we could arise early and hit the trail for our hike up to San Bernadino Peak. the lodge is just a few minutes from the trail head parking lot. the owners of the lodge are super people, very accommodating and very nice. the room was cozy, had all the amenities needed for a nice stay up in the mountains. we know the place had to be nice as our original plan was to stay on Thursday night, however the lodge was booked for that day and the following few days for a wedding party. so we moved our stay to Wednesday. in a nutshell, a great place to stay if you are visiting the area.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joemontana16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Staying here brings back memories of how it used to be when my family went to the mountains. Cabins are fun and place is nice. The people that run the place are courteous and caring. If you want a nice place close to many trails and the lake, I suggest that you go here.

Restaurant across the street is homey and food is "American" style.

Can't miss this place.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank albertXXXX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Stayed 1 night last weekend and loved it! Our family of 5 stayed in #2, the 6 person cabin, and our friends (family of 4) stayed in #3, 4 person cabin. We had the best time - the kids had a blast hiking and exploring nearby so they were in heaven. Our cabin had a huge front porch so we hung out on the porch for hours. We were originally going to explore the area more, but the cabins were so cozy and we were tucked into trees (although you can see the highway) so we were content to stay where we were. Super quiet at night and we had a great night's sleep. Sunny, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. The cabins were very clean and very well-stocked. Bring food though because the grocery store across the street had almost nothing in it. The restaurant next to the store though was great - had a very good breakfast there. Will definitely go back!

Room tip: Some cabins don't have a living room or a front porch. If you want those, make sure to ask the owner when booking. The smaller cabins are back further away from the main road.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews