We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Disgusting!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anaheim Maingate Inn
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Disgusting!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Let me start by stating I did not expect this place to be a 5 star resort. However, upon check in, my friend and I immediately discovered mold all over the shower! The light fixture in the shower / toilet room and the sink faucet were covered in rust; and the carpets, comforters, and doors were covered in dirt. The door to the room looked as though it had been kicked in a few times and the frame was just nailed back in place. We could hear our neighbors playing their radio, coughing, and the outside traffic all night long through the paper thin walls. The continental breakfast was supposed to be served at 7:00 am. We showed up at 7:10 am to find the lobby was locked and nobody in sight. Needless to say, we cancelled our reservation that was sceduled for one week and moved to a different hotel nearby. The front desk clerk didn't even offer to credit the cost of the one night we stayed. She told us it was "up to the owners", and they probably wouldn't credit us since we used the room for the night. This place was absolutely disgusting!!!!! I would rather sleep on the street than at this place. Don't stay here unless you enjoy being a contestant on Fear Factor!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dsrtdsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    23
    28
    69
See reviews for
54
34
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My biggest concern is for families... my room was not very clean or sanitary. Stains on the sheets, walls and doors. I have never seen so many black hairs in a bathroom at any place that I have ever stayed at than here. Long black hairs were everywhere. The hotel should consider making thier maids wear hairnets. The cover of the air conditioning unit was missing which left wires and other parts exposed. Not safe for children. Pool was closed. Parking was very limited and very tight. The beds were old and flat. The price was low, but the value was not there...better to pay a little more and get the value you deserve. I cannot recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimNewman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Anaheim hotels

Milton-Freewater
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Have stayed there 3 seperate times and found it clean and comfortable. We go to spend our time at DISNEYLAND not at any hotel. Bed was comfortable, has micro and fridge,good sized room, cold airconditioning, good linen. The continental breakfast was slim but gave us enough to get to disneyland to get the breakfasts we really wanted. The walk to the tram is short and A.R.T. picks up right in front of hotel. We are in our 60's and stay anywhere from 7 to 9 days at a time. Nice management also.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Hotel staff are friendly and the free coffee in the morning if fairly decent, but overall the hotel is depressing. The stairs are absolutely filthy. Room is bare bones. Room was pretty clean, but the hotel gave us the creeps. Not worth the money we saved had we stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sixbucks805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

The parking is extremely limited and very tight, the room is very run down with torn carpet, curtains, and bedspreads, wallpaper coming off the walls, the furniture looks like it was sent through a wood chipper. The AC was missing buttons, so you couldn't change the temperature. The alarm clock and telephone didn't work...all that I could live with, but the worst thing was that we had our do not disturb sign up when we left for the day because we didn't want anyone entering our room, but they took it down and came in anyway. The moved all of our stuff around, went through our bags, I could tell because they folded all my clothes in a way I don't fold, and everything in the bag was in a different spot than where I keep it. We had brought our own shampoo and it was gone and replaced with their shampoo. Very annoying and a complete disregard for our request for privacy. I wouldn't recommend anyone stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meowzeroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 km away
Budget Inn Anaheim
Budget Inn Anaheim
#78 of 118 in Anaheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim At The Park
0.2 km away
Travelodge Anaheim Inn and Suite on Disneyland Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Anaheim Discovery Inn & Suites
1.6 km away
Abby's Anaheimer Inn
Abby's Anaheimer Inn
#106 of 118 in Anaheim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anaheim Maingate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Maingate Inn

Property: Anaheim Maingate Inn
Address: 1211 S West Pl, Anaheim, CA 92802-2301 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Maingate)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Anaheim Maingate Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anaheim Maingate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Rodeway Inn Anaheim
Anaheim Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing