We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group dinner”

Gen Korean Bbq House
Ranked #10 of 262 Restaurants in Alhambra
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Went here for a college graduation dinner. I made reservations for 9, but when 2 people dropped out, they cancelled the reservation because they don't take reservations for less than 8. We ended up with a single grill for 7 people which was ok, but a bit crowded at the table.The atmosphere is good, the service was great,food was good, over all would go again.Only improvement would be to have more banchan choices.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank MangoSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Staff friendly and food was good! Food was ample! Excellent! Only problem was the long wait but worth it!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karenko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Had an early lunch at Gen Korean BBQ, was my first to this AYCE establishment. The beef bulgogi was absolutely delicious and very tender. I couldn't understand why the pork belly wasn't tender at all! Their pineapple slices and corn could stand to be a tad bit larger, unless I was wrong and perhaps they were just decor?
The place is lit up like a club and music to go with it-so if you are into that, then it'll be a party for you!

Overall, service was very good, we enjoyed our meal, 'tho nothing to write home about (just this review!). We did get seated instantly, perhaps this could be due to an early booking of 11 am on a Sunday.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank little_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

On a Sunday evening there was only a short wait for our party of three. The menu is $21 for all you can eat. There are 37 choices on the menu. Our son did the choosing and we mostly had beef and pork in thin slices, though the pork belly was thick cut. If you haven't been to a Korean BBQ, they bring the uncooked meats to the table and you cook them to your liking on a grill in the center of the table. There are assorted condiments, including various kimche and mashed potatoes. For dipping there are a couple of sauces plus salt that come standard. You can order additional. The additional hot sauce was not overly hot (they offer jalapeño, which I did not try).

Wine selection is small and they were out of the one I wanted but the other was OK. Out of hot sake, but the cold sake was fine. Chardonnay served only slightly cold so I asked for a chiller which helped.

Service a little slow until we realized we could flag any service staff with a request and they made it happen.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Nostromo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Parking: limited on-street, local garages/lots
Atmosphere: trendy, social, well designed
Staff: well attended to
Menu: traditional
Drinks: traditional
Meal: all you can eat yum
Prices: moderate
Visit Again: yes
Recommend To Friends: yes

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gen Korean Bbq House also viewed

 

Been to Gen Korean Bbq House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing