We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fog is beautiful on vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fensalden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fensalden Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fog is beautiful on vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Our inn keeper, Chris and his assistant Isiah were gracious, entertaining and helpful with all our needs.

Breakfast was relaxing and fun with other inn guests. The food was wonderful. Tasty treats each day fresh from the oven. The dining experience is part of the special atmosphere in a B and B. We've been going to this Inn for many years and took our young Brazilians friends with us this time. They had a great time.

Due to the usual weather the view room didn't extend a view to the ocean on this trip, but the ambiance of the inn grounds was well worth a look. Birds and deer fed in the lovely garden and there's a goat to visit nearby.

Any number of novels could start with the heavy fog that greeted our arrival the first evening. The mossy fence pickets and soothing water feature added to the charm.

The rooms are aging and comfortable, ours by the garden was quite large. If plastic or modern is your thing this isn't the place for you. All have gas stoves for a quick touch of heat and ambiance. The complementary bottle of wine in from a local winery.

The game room has lots of information, games and a telescope. The other common areas boast a piano and guitar for your use snacks and port for refreshment. All common areas have great windows onto the garden, and on a clear day great views out to the sea beyond.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bay area, ca
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a great place to stay . Right by the seaside, with views of the ocean from the rooms. Of course, the two days we were there, were the days there had to be fog all around. But it was still gorgeous.

The breakfasts they provide are rich and heavy . So plan a light lunch after that !

The best part about them is that , they are willing to accommodate 1 day requests rather the mandatory 2 day stay unlike other inns in the area.

They have a game room, a huge cozy living room to spend time in.

Go there if you want a relaxed weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London-UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Bob and Chris were so welcoming to this historic former stagecoach - they produced delicious individual breakfasts and were so informative about the history of the inn and the local area.The hummingbirds feeding outside and the deer calling in the evening mak ethsi the perfect ocen- view spot

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_UKGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We have stayed in many B&B's on the coast and Fensalden is by far our very favorite. The hosts are always delightful. I always feel like I am getting away and like I am right at home - the best of both worlds. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura95482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Illinois
Level Contributor
509 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

This was our highlight of Bed and Breakfasts in California last fall. The owners were friendly and charming and so helpful. We ate breakfast watching the hummingbirds and quail play in the yard. So restful and peaceful. There is so much history to the place as it was a Stagecoach Inn years ago. We loved it and would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albion
11.6 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
4.3 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
9.6 km away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Albion River Inn
Albion River Inn
#1 of 3 in Albion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
7.8 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
10.1 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fensalden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fensalden Inn

Property: Fensalden Inn
Address: 33810 Navarro Ridge Rd, PO Box 99, Albion, CA 95410-9732
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fensalden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on the back edge of 20 acres of gently rolling meadows at 400 ft elevation, just 7 miles south of charming Mendocino Village, Fensalden Inn was originally a Wells Fargo Stagecoach stop in the mid-1800's. Completely renovated, the Inn continues to offer a quiet respite from the hectic pace of today's world. Revel in our complete three-course gourmet breakfast each morning (with champagne and mimosas on Sundays), and gaze upon the ever-changing Pacific in the evenings as you marvel at our bird sanctuary while relaxing with a sip of port wine, complimented by a chocolate jerk ball, in the original Tavern Room.All accommodations offer a queen bed (Ridge Room offers king), gas or wood burning fireplace, small refrigerator with complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, and private bath with shower. Tower Suite and Bungalow house a full kitchen will necessary utensils and amenities; both also have tub (Bungalow has tub with jacuzzi jets). Four rooms have private entrances, 6 with private deck, porch or balcony; majority offer ocean view. Fensalden Inn is the perfect place for a quiet getaway to our beautiful stretch of the amazing Northern California Coast. Call us today to plan your next romantic retreat, family reunion or special event. Come and experience the magic of Fensalden Inn...the Land of the Mist and the Sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Fensalden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing