We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and political landmark in DC. Good Amenities for a Conference, Rooms need to be updated .”
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #104 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Location:
The hotel is located near the DuPont Circle Metro line and is a mile or so walk from very prominent DC monuments and museums. Very simple to get to and from DCA.

Lobby / Bell Area:
The lobby has recently been renovated and the overall welcome to the hotel is very welcoming. There is a little store where you can grab coffee and quick snacks.

Historical/Political Significance:
One thing I have always enjoyed about staying at the Washington Hilton is the historical and political significance to t Washington DC. On March 30, 1981 President Ronald Reagan was the target of an assassination attempt by John Hinckley, Jr. If you are interested in DC history, there is a plaque onsite. On a more positive note, the Washington Hilton serves as the annual location for the White House Correspondents' Dinner. Every time you see a picture of a present with a gold curtain behind them, there is a good chance it is the Washington Hilton. Outside of the conference room there is a hallway with pictures of all the presidents and the first ladies.

Conference Rooms:
The Washington Hilton is well designed to host large conferences. There are close to a dozen conference rooms that easily configured. There are plenty of areas for seating and networking. The large ballroom can serve hundreds of meals in a short amount of time. I was impressed with the staff, and chef and their ability to host a large number of people. Excellent conference hotel.

Room:
I expected more from the rooms themselves.
When I checked in, both the bathroom and closet doors were broken and there was a clothes-iron shape burned into the carpet. The maintenance crew fixed both doors, but the overall rooms on the 3rd floor had quality issues including water stains on the ceilings and since the hotel was full, I could not be moved.
The bed and bathroom were functional, but were dated.

Summary:
While the hotel itself is quality, and there are many positive qualities, I give the hotel an overall review of 4 of 5. The room itself ranks a 3, but the overall experience is improved by the other areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that have not been updated. (3rd Floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Heston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Marks, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Thomas_Heston,

Thank you so much for your feedback in regard to your recent stay. I hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon!

Best,
Tracy Marks - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 191 of 4,007 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

This is a great hotel in a great location and staff are very welcoming. However, to obtain what in the main now is universally free access to the internet, guests have to pay an outrageous sum for room access or, all gather in the lobby and fight for a common space! Keep up, its 2017!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank X530BVpeterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Marks, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear X530BVpeterr,

I am happy to read that you were impressed by our location and our team. The only thing needed in order to receive complimentary WiFi is a Hilton Honors membership, which is complimentary as well. I am so sorry if you were not informed of this while at the hotel. I hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
Tracy Marks - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Overall, the experience was not bad though checking took about 30 min at 7 pm...lots of people and slowish service. Pull up to the roundabout to unload and if you have a lot you'll have to use a bill hop and they will bring your bags to your room. If you don't want to pay the $40 per day parking there are plenty of other places to drop off your vehicle close by using the app - spot hero. Very good location close to many awesome restaurants!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank clsizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Marks, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear clsizer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn of the wait you endured upon your arrival, and your disappointment in regard to the pricing of our parking. Your feedback is being used in order to improve our overall guest experience.

Best,
Tracy Marks - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel was terrible. The room was an odd shape and the toilet didn't work properly. There was no room service or mini bar. The meeting rooms felt like a dungeon and the projector screens were blocked by pillars.
Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 572tiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Marks, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear 572tiag,

I am so sorry to learn of your disappointment with our offerings, and with your recent stay. We want to Make it Right by any way possible and I urge you to contact our hotel directly so that we may have an opportunity to do so.

Best,
Tracy Marks - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I stay at this hotel annually to attend a conference. The conference facilities are very good. The food is professionally done. It's a large faculty able to host thousands. It's a older hotel build that has been upgraded. The lobby was re-freshened in the last year and nice. The rooms are fairly decent yet small. The noise from other rooms passes through too much. The toilet paper is low grade. The beds are cozy and the pillow are decent. I overall have a positive opinion of this hotel. I just think it's age is a slight disadvantage since rooms are smaller than modern averages. Parking is $$$. The gym is okay. Equipment is a little aged but in fairly decent working order. Pool is outdoor only.

Room Tip: Make sure you are further down the hall since there are party rooms available near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scarrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy_Marks, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Scarrmd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. I hope that are able to welcome you back again next year!

Best,
Tracy Marks - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,318 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,057 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €86 - €301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing