We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went above and beyond with their customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #73 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The room was in great condition, with enough accessible storage to unpack my belongings for a weeklong trip. The bathroom was nice, modern, and had great water pressure with changeable shower head. The lobby had a nice feel and seating area with 24 hr coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and cookies. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent. The location was close to restaurants and the metro. MOST IMPORTANTLY was what the hotel did for me after I checked out. I had left some of my belongings in a drawer of the room. I called a couple days later and the Comfort Inn still had my clothes and shipped them to North Carolina (where I reside) free of charge. The clothes were in perfect condition and they even put mints in my box. Couldn't have been happier with my experience and would definitely recommend for business or recreation!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Megan P,
Thank you very much for you review of the Comfort Inn Downtown DC/Convention Center, The Hotel employees were really happy to see your review, I’m glad you took advantage of our amenities, Breakfast options and location. Mr. Kyle English is also responsible for the lost and found items. The mints was a suggestion from Mr. Raj, our Customer Service Agent that has worked in the past for a 5 star hotel in Nepal and according to him the mints means that we care about you and your belongs. In your next visit to DC please come to see us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 743 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here recently and were very happy with our choice. We read the recent positive reviews and made a note that renovations were complete. I had a seminar 1.5 blocks away and my husband came along to tour Washington. The hotel is in a great spot, very central to everything. It is a block away from the 14th Street historical district (which has a lot of restaurants & a Whole Foods!), a short walk to the Smithsonian & other monuments along the National Mall area, very close to the Convention Center and either the blue or yellow metro line, and not too far from Chinatown. The hotel is very clean and welcoming. We asked for a quiet room and got an internally facing room on the seventh floor which was perfect for us. We liked that our room had a mini fridge and a flat screen TV. A hot breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, various fruits (apples, oranges, bananas), instant oatmeal, various muffins, donuts, and breads for toasting are available. There are also juices, coffee, milk, hot chocolate, and tea. The waffle station was fun to try out as well (it varied between plain and blueberry or strawberry). The breakfast area was very clean and well stocked. We had live Irish music on the first evening we were there - the hotel had a veggie tray and a fruit and cheese tray along with various beers, wine, and sodas. We enjoyed that evening immensely! We got to meet the general manager, Mario Pais, who is a super nice and very genuine person. We also loved having the use of the breakfast area in the evenings to for our take-out dinners. It was much more relaxing to eat in the common area rather than upstairs in our room. It was also very convenient to have access to the microwave in the common area as well so we could heat up our leftovers! In the lobby, there is coffee, hot water for tea or hot chocolate, and freshly baked COOKIES. So aside from the great location, hot breakfast, and COOKIES, I would highly recommend staying here for the superb customer service – Mario, the general manager, really went above and beyond our expectations in making us feel welcomed and comfortable. It was my first time in DC and I when I come back to visit, I will definitely come and stay at the Comfort Inn again. Staying here made the trip a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy_Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Nancy and Jason,
Thank you very much for giving us the privilege to host your family and for taking your time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel, we really appreciated. I’m glad you took advantage of our location and amenities so well defined in your review. Thank you for your recommendation of the Comfort Inn Downtown DC/Convention Center and please come to see us again soon at the Nation’s Capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A very good value compared to other more expensive similar hotels of this area. The management and staff were very professional. Quiet, clean, comfortable beds and well-appointed bathrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle E, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Brian C

Thank you for you review of the Comfort Inn Downtown DC. It is a pleasure to hear that you were happy with our hotel and service. We have a great staff at the Comfort Inn Downtown and we take pride in our committed to quality. Thank you for giving us the privilege to have you with us and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This gem of a hotel really is really a great place to stay while in DC. Quiet. Very well maintained and clean. The bed is exceptionally comfortable with a nice bathroom. The front-desk staff was very friendly and helpful. A wonderful breakfast is offered in the breakfast room -- a spacious area with lot of light and nice decoration. Too bad when I was there only one of the two elevators was working, making the wait a littkle longer.
I highly recommend this place. I would return and stay there again.

Room Tip: One not facing the front (street) would be quiet for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beebahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle E, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear beebahk,


Thank you for your review of the Comfort Inn Downtown DC. It is great to hear about your positive experience with us. We have recently finished a renovation of the complete hotel.

All the employees of the Comfort Inn Downtown DC work hard everyday to provide the best service to our guest. We are sorry about the wait for the elevator we are currently upgrading to make them better for our guest. Please call us next time you are back in DC. Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just came back from a nice stay at this hotel for one night. The managers Mario and Kyle were just wonderful. The rooms were small but clean and well decorated. The hot breakfast was nice and their lower level lounge was very nicely decorated with a comfortable couch to relax on and watch TV. Great location, just a ten minute walk to white house. Would highly recommend this hotel for either a business or a vacation trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SambaRainha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle E, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear SambaRainha,


Thank you for your review of the Comfort Inn Downtown DC. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our accommodations while you were with us. Our lower level lounge were we serve are full hot breakfast in the morning is open to our guest to relax in throughout the day.

The housekeeping staff works very hard to ensure every guest has a clean and comfortable room to stay in while they are with us. We thank you for your business and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#38 of 142 in Washington DC
465 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
2,695 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#102 of 142 in Washington DC
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €84 - €270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing