We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #69 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Spent three nights at this great hotel located in Dupont Circle. The check-in was easy, the staff at the front desk was fantastic and the room was great, albeit a bit noisy because of the fan that ran the entire time and couldn't be stopped.

The hotel is quite nice and in a great location. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pinkdork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for choosing The Fairfax at Embassy Row for your Washington, DC visit. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and greatly appreciate your recommendation to other travelers. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
There are newer reviews for The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

The location of the fairfax is an absolute pro. Awesome pretty neighbourhood. The hotel itself is okay. It does not offer a lot to make it feel like a four star hotel. The rooms are nice and you get some free water bottles upon arrival. But we had to go to the lobby to get towels. They ask for an extra 13dollar/night for wifi and 18 for breakfast, which feels a little oldfashioned. The free cookies in the lobby in the afternoon are a friendly plus.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghoekstra83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We're happy that our location in Dupont Circle, one of DC's most vibrant neighborhoods, was such a draw for you. We do, however, regret that we did not impress you at every turn. We would like to share that Wifi is free in the public areas of the hotel and complimentary for iPrefer members. Thank you for sharing your feedback, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I picked this hotel as it was an Expedia VIP hotel and it was certainly worth it. We were greeted warmly and given an upgrade, free breakfast and a couple of free drinks.
The room was fantastic with a very comfortable king bed. The bar was a nice area to enjoy a quiet drink.
The area is great as there are coffee shops and restaurants within very easy walking distance. We had a great lobster meal at Pesce, and a bit further away the Mad Hatter had a great happy hour.
The front desk and other hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, we were greeted with a smile when we returned from outside. Would stay there again and recommend

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whmorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for choosing our property for your visit to Washington, DC, it was a pleasure having you here. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and felt the warm, genuine welcome from our staff. We are happy you would return to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, and we hope it's soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Having stayed at average hotels in two previous US cities, we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the Fairfax during our final stop in DC. We got a very spacious king size room, which was very clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly, plus there is free wifi. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We are delighted to hear you were pleasantly surprised by your stay with us in DC. Thank you for sharing your lovely comments and compliments for our staff, we are glad everyone was helpful. We hope to see you again soon at The Fairfax at Embassy Row!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

DuPont circle is a great location but the Fairfax Hotel was somewhat disappointing. The room was not ready upon check in so we were told to come back in a couple of hours or so. The room was adequate but the shower always filled up with water about ankle deep. You had to soap up with shower off to allow water to drain out. Once the water overflowed and we received a call that the room below us was flooding. They finally sent someone up to unclog the drain. I had no idea this was supposed to be a 4 or 5 star hotel. The desk workers seemed it an imposition to speak. Will stay somewhere else next year. The location of this hotel is a plus however.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We apologize that your experience with us was not completely positive and for those details that were out of place for you. Your comments have been shared with our team to ensure our accommodations and services live up to our high standards. Thank you for your feedback, we do hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#88 of 142 in Washington DC
1,352 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 142 in Washington DC
1,264 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,123 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#107 of 142 in Washington DC
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €106 - €403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing