We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$180
US$154
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$194
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$109
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Wink(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$113
The Wink Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

One Washington Circle Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$250
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The River Inn(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Washington Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$113
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$123
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,340)
Filter reviews
1,341 results
Traveller rating
728
391
146
52
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
728
391
146
52
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirefly restaurantdupont circlebalcony roomnew hampshirewine hourtiny lobbyyoga mattoilet and showersink areaanimal print robesapartment buildingwine receptionsmall hotelmini barfront desk staffdc areadefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 1,341 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and extremely conveniently located.
The bath- room is definitely too small.you can hardly fit in the shower. Bizarre lay- out.

Too bad we were too busy discovering DC and we didn't have time to enjoy the Happy hour, but it's definitely a nice addition.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank elvira2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

elvira2001, thanks for providing feedback on your stay.

I am very happy to read that you found the hotel very clean and conveniently located here in Dupont Circle! I am sorry you didn't get a chance to enjoy the wine hour :(

We look forward to your retuned arrival. Thanks for staying!

John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

The hotel was very cute, and the staff were fantastic. We had an issue with a Macy's delivery order arriving to the hotel too late and one of the staff kindly offered to return the package to her local Macy's on her way home... She definitely went above and beyond and it was very much appreciated! Also they had free wine tasting one night, and had coffee and travel cups at reception in the mornings. The room was a great size with a king bed, the only downside was the odd bathroom layout. The neighbourhood was very nice too, was great to be out of the hustle and bustle of downtown!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Carli H, thanks for a terrific review!

So wonderful to hear to that the staff was incredible here at the hotel! It's so reassuring to read about the awesome staff on Tripadvisor! So happy to hear that a staff member went above and beyond to assist you in getting that package back to the department store.

I am pleased to read you had a wonderful time here at Hotel Madera!

We look forward to your returned arrival. Thanks for staying :)

John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Booked a 2 Queen room in $200 range. Very large room, yoga mat, nice to stretch. Staff was fantastic. Close to Dupont Circle, restaurants, markets, shopping and BIG BUS stop with Metro. WILL go back.
Wifi was "iffy"

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GregRoyKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

GregRoyKelley, thanks for leaving great feedback!

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Madera!

We look forward to having you here again!

Don't be a stranger :)

John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We just got back from a week in Washington DC and the Hotel Madera was the perfect place to stay. Brittney the hotel manager and Danny Boy were there for us with whatever we needed. We were greeted with a beautiful cheese platter upon arrival, a nice glass of Sangria and lots of goodies. Danny Boy went the extra mile when we got lost finding our bus stop. He walked from the hotel, found us, and helped us find our pick area. I've never had better service anywhere. Thank you!!

Room Tip: We went for the tranquility room which had a spa chair and said a water feature, but there was no water feature.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannaRNBSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

JeannaRNBSN, thanks for a awesome review!

I am very excited to hear that you described Hotel Madera as a perfect place to stay! I am literally doing the happy dance I read that Dannyboy and Brittany helped in making your experience great :0) There are truly remarkable workers and we value them both!

Seems like we won you over and that means you have to come back! We look forward to a returned arrival and appreciate you staying with us.

John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I was in DC with my mother for a Navy reunion, in fact we all stayed at the Madera. What a delightful experience. We loved the location, loved the staff and loved our room. We had a queen double with balcony. It was super roomy(bathroom is small, but who spends much time there anyway) and loved the balcony. The only thing that would have made the balcony better was seating(but I'm assuming that's a liability nightmare). Beds were very comfy with lots of pillows. That staff just couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. It was fun meeting our fellow travelers during the wine "hour" or at coffee in the morning. They have bicycles available and dogs are welcome--I happen to like both. The Firefly restaurant was a very happening place in the evenings and was great for all meals. I hope to return to DC for more sightseeing and will most definitely stay here. I like being in a more lived-in area and it is right by Dupont Circle. The only reason I didn't give this a "5" is that because of different rates for different days, I ended up with three reservations; that led to one being temporarily lost and three separate bills upon check out. There's got to be an easier way. The television had reception problems half of the time as well--full disclosure, we didn't complain because, once again, we really weren't in the room all that much, other than at night. That being said, the staff, location and room more than made up for the three bills and lost reservation. The staff cannot be beat!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LFT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John E, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

LFT56, thanks for a fantastic review!

I really appreciate you taking time out to leave incredible feedback about Hotel Madera! I am extremely happy to hear that the staff was incredible. The staff here prides ourselves on delivering great service to all guests.

Seems like you had a overall AMAZING stay!

We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for staying.

John Esainko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews