We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #64 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Booked the Mayflower thru the Marriot website - easy to do - staff from checking in to checking out were friendly and welcoming. Great room - very quiet - would definitely stay at the Mayflower again. A wonderful mid-city location north of the White House

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarkWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Greetings from The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection!

Mark-so delighted that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at The Mayflower Hotel. We are excited that we have created another memory in the next chapter in your beautiful lives together!

Thank you for selecting to stay at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection. Looking forward to having you be a part our storied service for many years to come!

Congratulations, best wishes from all of us at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection.

Warm regards,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,565)
There are newer reviews for The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 2,565 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Checked in, got to my room (This Monday the 7th, for 4 nights). I was not happy when I got into my room and discovered that the Mayflower hotel does NOT have coffee makers or anyway to allow guests to have make coffee in their room. I was told by the staff that the fire code did NOT allow coffee makers in the individual rooms (I want to see the actual fire code). This means that there is no way to have coffee or tea unless you go down to Edgar's restaurant on the first floor for 'Complimentary" coffee or tea. I will test how easy this is later.
As far as housekeeping goes, the TV did not work (was told it was housekeeping's responsibility to report it), a left over laptop accessory in the drawer from another guest, a hair on the blanket on the shelf in the closet, two 'extra' facecloths (used) under the vanity sink in the bathroom (against the wall, hard to see I guess). I also found a nice nickel/quarter size hole in the middle of the sheet cover of the comforter ( See picture).
Also, this morning in the executive lounge, there was no hot coffee in the brewer, and the bowls on the table for guests to use, had some kind of food debris on them (indicated your dishwasher is not working correctly). After I checked the top 3 bowls and found them dirty, I placed them on the dirty tray, and gave up. I didn't want to go through all of them.
As a platinum member I travel A LOT. This hotel is NOT paying attention to cleanliness in both the rooms and the plates. Systemic cleanliness problem and training therefor is the conclusion that I have arrived at for this property.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Margaret G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the team at The Mayflower Hotel honest feedback during your stay.

On behalf of the Management Team, I would like to thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and for selecting to stay at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection. I will be forwarding your comments to our staff and use this as a training opportunity to continue our strive for excellence in hospitality.

We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to redeem ourselves. Again, please accept my sincere apologies for missing the opportunity to showcase our iconic hotel.

Warm regards,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

3 night stay in the heart of D.C.! Can't say enough good about this hotel and its staff...super friendly... greeted with a cupcake and a delightful Ice-T! Clean rooms... The rooms are small but not really small for DC. You are in the capital of the United States. So you have to expect limited space... tons of things close by ...right behind the hotel is the geography museum, lots of food places ...a great pasta place, seafood, and a couple of fast food places and you can always get a grab something to go at the CVS!
Free coffee in the lobby every morning and every evening!
I would definitely stay again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank KathleenK367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Greetings from The Mayflower KathleenK367!

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection.

The Mayflower stands proudly in both the heart of Washington, D.C. and the world,
and continues to be a renowned and iconic landmark. As the city’s stage for almost a century, this is the place where Washington power and after hours intersect.

Thank you for selecting to stay at The Mayflower, we hope to be your hotel of choice during your next destination to our Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Guess I'm a bit of a sucker for historic properties. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mayflower, not having stayed there since its 2015 renovation. The Congressional Suites are spacious and the staff attentive. Late checkout was graciously offered.The Executive lounge was well appointed although a bit crowded at breakfast.We were in town for a concert at the Verizon Center and given the traffic on our way there we may opt for a closer hotel next time, solely for reasons of geographical convenience. However the service at the Mayflower makes me think twice.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Greetings Paul B,

The Mayflower Hotel effortlessly blends historic traditions and modern luxury here in the heart of the Nation's Capital. Thank you for your kind accolades and for once again selecting to stay at The Mayflower!

We like to begin by designing the stay around our guests, with a stellar destination and to introduce you to the hotels historic past. The commitment to our guests remains steadfast and genuine-and our hospitality will always continue to honor the timeless elegance of our storied service.

On behalf of the General Manager, we do hope to be your hotel of choice during your next visit to Washington, DC. Thank you for your loyalty to the brand, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection.

Warmest regards,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The Mayflower is one of several Marriott-Owned Hotels that are part of the Marriott Vacation Club- Pulse program and we stayed there using that program. The Mayflower completely met our expectations and provided a central location for visits to the White House, Smithsonian museums and monuments in the National Mall. There were also plenty of restaurants and upscale bars within walking distance and the Metro station was practically next door. Will definitely make plans to stay here again when visiting the DC area.

Room Tip: Appears that accommodations for Marriott Vacation Club - Pulse program is on the 7th floor.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeshareownerX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear TimeshareownerX2,

We love to hear back from our guests who experience the time honored tradition of The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the numerous destinations in our Nation's Capital. Our central location has been a part of the city center since 1925 and we thank you for selecting to stay with us and experience our storied service.

Thank your for your loyalty to the brand. We will look forward to your next visit to The Mayflower Hotel!

Wishing you continued safe travels!

Sincerely,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,201 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 142 in Washington DC
3,044 reviews
Loews Madison Hotel
#78 of 142 in Washington DC
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €112 - €1,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing