We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Summer Time hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed here on business for 7 nights, have previously stayed in sister hotels - Henley Park and Lombardy, much prefered Washington Plaza.
Staff friendly, bedrooms a good size, with complimentary water and an empty mini bar for you to stock rather than have to try to find space for your food/drink in the mix of overpriced mini bar goods!
Bathroom was on the small side, good combined closet/sink space but bath/shower and toliet area small. Had a cockroach in the bathroom on two occassions, not unusual for DC, but this was a negative.

Pool area was clean and a good size.
Thomas Circle area is one of my favourite areas in DC to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our hotel rooms and amenities were to your liking. I am terribly sorry for the issues you encountered in your bathroom and I apologize for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. We do have a strong preventative maintenance program in place with a certified extermination company and our associates are trained to keep a close watch and look for any type of suspicious activity. We hope that this occurrence does not deter you from joining us on your next trip to Washington, DC.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,788 of 2,723 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

It was difficult to find a hotel in DC with a pool, but we found a great one in the Washington Plaza Hotel. The price was affordable (about $160 average per night). The rooms were very nicely appointed and modern, as was the entire hotel. The staff was very courteous and helpful at all times. The pool was quiet, clean and beautiful and drinks were offered poolside as well. The beds were SO comfortable, which we all appreciated. The only surprise I didn't like was the extra parking fee, which was an extra $35 per night in the hotel. Most of DC's attractions were about 10 minutes drive away, but the surrounding area had many cafes and cvs's, which we utilized a good deal. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Believe it or not, the "official" photos that the hotel has on this site are exactly as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our property. I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your guest room so comfortable and well appointed. I am pleased to hear you found our associates so accommodating. I am sorry that the parking fee came as a surprise but it is a standard for all hotels in Washington. We greatly appreciate your kind recommendation and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed a whole week at this hotel. The rates varied so overall the average rate per night was good for the quality of this hotel, taking into account how expensive hotels are in Washington.

Taking into consideration the temperatures in Washington in July / August the pool was really necessary after our long museum visits. Air conditioning worked well with a thermostat so it goes on and off to regulate temperature in the room.

The room was very nice, large, a lot of light, view of the pool. The photos are pretty accurate: modern design, large TV, bathroom split in 2: bathtub & toilet in one and outside the mirror & sink. It was clean, spacious and really nice. All in all a good 4 star hotel.

The location of this hotel was excellent for tourists. Washington blocks are huge so everything is quite far from everything else. This hotel is 10 minutes walk from the White House and the National Mall, so a great place to stay for tourists.

I read in other reviews that we should ask for a room on a high floor. We got a room on the 5th floor which was enough to have a view, but I'm not sure I would bother. For: the higher up the less the noise reaches you. Against: lower levels have balconies.

My main "buts" are:
- Variety in the room service wasn't great, and if you stay a week you need more variety.
- Wifi didn't work very well: very slow
- There is a lot of noise on the roundabout where the hotel is situated, so at night you can hear all the sirens, noisy motorbikes etc. We were so tired it didn't really bother us, but if you are noise-sensitive, a room not over the pool might be better (though I don't know if it is more quiet on the other side)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our pool. I'm happy to read that you found our location so great for visitors to downtown DC. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the slow Wi-Fi and I will follow up on it. While we are sorry to hear not everything was to your liking, we appreciate your feedback as your comments are a very valuable tool for us to continue to look at better ways to improve our guest’s experience. We look forward to your return visit!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights early January. Clean, comfortable business style hotel with excellent service. A quiet, large on the 2nd floor (we stayed at an off peak time, so the rooms beside & above us were probably unoccupied). Internet was included and worked well. Reasonable value breakfast for a business hotel, but not many nearby alternatives for tourists (although there are local restaurants within a 10 minute walk for dinner). For tourists, it is a 10-12 minute walk to the metro & 20 - 25 minutes to the Mall area. Overall a good experience, but slightly outside the main tourist area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback in regards to our accommodations, amenities and excellent service. We strive to make our business and leisure guests equally comfortable. We hope you have the chance to stay with us again in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

As a college student on a research trip, saving money was my top priority! This hotel was cheap for DC while still affording an excellent location, great service, clean rooms, and safe. So often with cheaper hotels you lose those features, but the Washington Plaza is an excellent hotel for anyone to stay at. I saw families, couples, people on business, and people of every age group and nationality. It's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the nearest metro stop and luckily there are plenty of places to get coffee along the way! There are also nice restaurants for various budgets nearby.

What was probably my best experience with the staff happened when my mother, who had joined me for a few days, lost her camera. We had signed up for a night tour of DC that was supposed to pick us up in front of the hotel. Unfortunately for us, there was another tour company picking other people up at our hotel. That tour company told us they were our bus, but after we had gotten on the bus our real tour company called and told us that we were not on the right bus at all. In our hurry to get off, my mother forgot her camera. When we told the staff they helped us figure out what tour company bus we had gotten on (we had NO idea which one it was other than that it had DC in the title), and helped us get our camera back. Not every hotel would do that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to make our business and leisure guests equally comfortable, and we are pleased you recognized and appreciated both aspects of our hotel. I am delighted to hear our associates went out of their way to help you get your mother’s camera back. I am fortunate to work with such a great team that truly cares about each of our guests and strives to help them in any way possible to enhance their stay. We hope you have the chance to stay with us again in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
703 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,901 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
387 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 Thomas Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €82 - €340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the fresh new feel of the Washington Plaza. Designed in 1962 by world-famous architect Morris Lapidus, this recently renovated Washington DC hotel near the White House offers an engaging balance of cosmopolitan ambiance and unpretentious hospitality – perfect for international business trips, romantic getaways, and once-in-a-lifetime family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing