We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Wink(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hamilton Hotel Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$99
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$180
US$154
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$194
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One Washington Circle Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The River Inn(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$298
US$261
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,888)
Filter reviews
2,888 results
Traveller rating
1,461
987
284
81
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,461
987
284
81
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthomas circlewhite housegreat poolbottled waterwithin walking distanceself parkingturn down servicecentral locationhotel restaurantconvention centerwould highly recommend this hotelupon checkfew blockssight seeingcoffee makermetro stationmall
Filter
Updating list...
1,925 - 1,930 of 2,888 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

It was difficult to find a hotel in DC with a pool, but we found a great one in the Washington Plaza Hotel. The price was affordable (about $160 average per night). The rooms were very nicely appointed and modern, as was the entire hotel. The staff was very courteous and helpful at all times. The pool was quiet, clean and beautiful and drinks were offered poolside as well. The beds were SO comfortable, which we all appreciated. The only surprise I didn't like was the extra parking fee, which was an extra $35 per night in the hotel. Most of DC's attractions were about 10 minutes drive away, but the surrounding area had many cafes and cvs's, which we utilized a good deal. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Believe it or not, the "official" photos that the hotel has on this site are exactly as they appear when you get there!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our property. I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your guest room so comfortable and well appointed. I am pleased to hear you found our associates so accommodating. I am sorry that the parking fee came as a surprise but it is a standard for all hotels in Washington. We greatly appreciate your kind recommendation and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed a whole week at this hotel. The rates varied so overall the average rate per night was good for the quality of this hotel, taking into account how expensive hotels are in Washington.

Taking into consideration the temperatures in Washington in July / August the pool was really necessary after our long museum visits. Air conditioning worked well with a thermostat so it goes on and off to regulate temperature in the room.

The room was very nice, large, a lot of light, view of the pool. The photos are pretty accurate: modern design, large TV, bathroom split in 2: bathtub & toilet in one and outside the mirror & sink. It was clean, spacious and really nice. All in all a good 4 star hotel.

The location of this hotel was excellent for tourists. Washington blocks are huge so everything is quite far from everything else. This hotel is 10 minutes walk from the White House and the National Mall, so a great place to stay for tourists.

I read in other reviews that we should ask for a room on a high floor. We got a room on the 5th floor which was enough to have a view, but I'm not sure I would bother. For: the higher up the less the noise reaches you. Against: lower levels have balconies.

My main "buts" are:
- Variety in the room service wasn't great, and if you stay a week you need more variety.
- Wifi didn't work very well: very slow
- There is a lot of noise on the roundabout where the hotel is situated, so at night you can hear all the sirens, noisy motorbikes etc. We were so tired it didn't really bother us, but if you are noise-sensitive, a room not over the pool might be better (though I don't know if it is more quiet on the other side)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our pool. I'm happy to read that you found our location so great for visitors to downtown DC. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the slow Wi-Fi and I will follow up on it. While we are sorry to hear not everything was to your liking, we appreciate your feedback as your comments are a very valuable tool for us to continue to look at better ways to improve our guest’s experience. We look forward to your return visit!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights early January. Clean, comfortable business style hotel with excellent service. A quiet, large on the 2nd floor (we stayed at an off peak time, so the rooms beside & above us were probably unoccupied). Internet was included and worked well. Reasonable value breakfast for a business hotel, but not many nearby alternatives for tourists (although there are local restaurants within a 10 minute walk for dinner). For tourists, it is a 10-12 minute walk to the metro & 20 - 25 minutes to the Mall area. Overall a good experience, but slightly outside the main tourist area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback in regards to our accommodations, amenities and excellent service. We strive to make our business and leisure guests equally comfortable. We hope you have the chance to stay with us again in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

As a college student on a research trip, saving money was my top priority! This hotel was cheap for DC while still affording an excellent location, great service, clean rooms, and safe. So often with cheaper hotels you lose those features, but the Washington Plaza is an excellent hotel for anyone to stay at. I saw families, couples, people on business, and people of every age group and nationality. It's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel to the nearest metro stop and luckily there are plenty of places to get coffee along the way! There are also nice restaurants for various budgets nearby.

What was probably my best experience with the staff happened when my mother, who had joined me for a few days, lost her camera. We had signed up for a night tour of DC that was supposed to pick us up in front of the hotel. Unfortunately for us, there was another tour company picking other people up at our hotel. That tour company told us they were our bus, but after we had gotten on the bus our real tour company called and told us that we were not on the right bus at all. In our hurry to get off, my mother forgot her camera. When we told the staff they helped us figure out what tour company bus we had gotten on (we had NO idea which one it was other than that it had DC in the title), and helped us get our camera back. Not every hotel would do that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to make our business and leisure guests equally comfortable, and we are pleased you recognized and appreciated both aspects of our hotel. I am delighted to hear our associates went out of their way to help you get your mother’s camera back. I am fortunate to work with such a great team that truly cares about each of our guests and strives to help them in any way possible to enhance their stay. We hope you have the chance to stay with us again in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Washington Plaza is centrally located in D.C. - near the Metro, bus lines, and easy walking distances. Newly updated - great pool - front desk is accommodating. The Plaza has its own garage, so you can park yourself, and come and go as you please, with just one fee.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacher202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear our accommodations and location fit your needs perfectly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews