We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I had a very good experience at this hotel. The location was great- close to the metro, within walking distance of many good restaurants, grocery store and good bagel place just across the street. I also felt safe walking around the hotel at night.

I appreciated the mini bar credit that came with our room, as well as the free coffee in the lobby every morning. The happy hour in the lobby was also a nice touch.

The only things I did not like about the hotel were the time it took to get a cab in the morning, and the long wait time for the elevator.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor so you can take the stairs and not have to wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,813 - 2,817 of 4,545 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had such a fantastic experience at this hotel! We drove into DC in the middle of the night, and there was a problem with our original reservation at another hotel across town. We found the Palomar on google maps, called, and luckily they had rooms and are pet friendly. When we arrived, they immediately took care of our bags and car, and welcomed us with our dog (who is medium sized, about 40 lbs; it's not always easy to find a hotel that completely welcomes larger than the "toy" breeds). The hotel was spotless, you'd never know it was dog friendly, apart from the water dishes by the check-in desk. Our room was fantastic; big posh bed with comfy bedding, superbly clean, and gorgeous bathroom and overall decor.

The location of the hotel is awesome - a quick walk to all the site of the city, plus cool restaurants and bars in dupont circle. We would stay at this hotel if in the area again, without a doubt. Kimpton knows how to take care of guests in style!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Andrea S,

Thank you so much for finding us! I was so happy to read that we delivered the level of service we are so well known for. Thank you for your kind remarks -- they will be shared with our staff.

Best Wishes,
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I've stayed in this hotel a few times now for business, always a great experience. Area is great too, nice variety of restaurants within a few minutes' walk.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneoverbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My family has stayed at this location several times and I would highly recommend it. This hotel understands customer service and that the little things count. Every employee is friendly and helpful and willing to help any guest. We love eating at the restaurant and really love the daily happy hour! The rooms are comfortable and clean. The location is close to Dupont Circle, the train, and several restaurants.

Room Tip: Sign up free to be a Kimpton Rewards member to make a great stay even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear M O,

Thank you so much for being a loyal fan and for taking the time to share your review. The next time you are back in town, let me know. I would love the chance to thank you in person.

Best Wishes,
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The room is open and roomy; however, the "fresh" friuts on the tray were old. The strawberry's stem are all dried out. There were treats for the dogs, but not for the kids. The services are excellent. The restuarant in the labby had great food and service. During our stay the elevator took a long time. If you have kids think twice, but if you have a pet you may want to come.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear flyonwheels,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent Washington DC getaway. I am sorry that the fruit we sent wasn't fresh. We will make sure not to preset fresh fruit too early in the day to guarentee its freshness. We have now a fun way of welcoming kids to the hotel as well. I hope you will give us another chance and enjoy some of the adjustments we have made.

Best Wishes,
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,424 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,236 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,787 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €137 - €341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing