We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I booked with the rouge hotel because I wanted to stay somewhere different than the usuall Hilton or Marriott. After I discover this kimpton property in the middle of dc, I said why not!! All I can say is I was not disappointed... The hotel is in the middle of everything, my mother and I walked everywhere and if we got tired cab rides were never more than 10$.. The rooms are a good size and the beds are very comfy!! The hotel staff is amazing Steven at the front desk is excellent, he helped me surprise my mother with flowers and sake in the room which she loved... Kiah at the front desk was familiar with the area and suggested an excellent restaurant.. All the staff in the hotel was friendly and always willing to help.. Hamid.. The hardest working server and Abdul the bellman/ cab hailer lol!! They have happy hours every evening, which are great after a long day of walking the city!! But If your not into boutique style hotels with excellent personal service then u should probably stick to the non personal boring Marriott!! This place was great I am now an kimpton in touch member and a big fan of kimpton hotels!!

Simone

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slw07c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Slw07c. I am delighted that you and mother enjoyed your visit to DC. We pride ourselves in making travel fun. Thank you for remembering the names of some of our fabulous staff who work hard to make sure that our guest’s experience is second to none! Thank you for noticing and for your amazing review of the Palomar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    666
    207
    83
    37
See reviews for
399
593
155
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We discovered this through positive reviews on trip advisor, as it was not the first hotel the holiday company offered us. Research pays off though, as we couldn't fault our stay here.

The rooms are very spacious, with some retro red accents but not overwhelming, its nice to stay somewhere with a distinctive identity. The bathroom is well supplied with toiletries and towels, and there is some fun stuff in the mini bar. Noise was not a problem but we were at the back of the hotel, it may be different overlooking the front however.

The area is very safe, and there are lots of bars and restaurants nearby and at dupont circle. The white house is only 15 minutes walk away, and you are the right side of town to exit for Dulles.

The continental breakfast was very tasty and plentiful, pastries, baked goods and cereals plus coffee, tea and juice, and the server was helpful and efficient.

The staff were great, and helped us end our holiday on a relaxing note byt letting us have a late checkout while waiting for our transfer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandTJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thanks for such lovely and thorough review, GandTJo!. We seem to be getting more and more popular with our friends from across the pond. We hope you will come visit us again.

Cheers,

Mark Jennings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We hesitated between Hampton Inn type lodging outside of D.C. and Rouge and finally elected for Rouge. It must be noted the prices were comparable except for the extra required to park our car in the basement garage. We were very impressed with the huge rooms and ample window area as well as by the service. This hotel runs with limited staff and they all seem to multi-task to deliver excellent service.

I highly recommend this hotel for any personal travelling to D.C.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nostawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at Rouge for our 10 year anniversary. We had just moved to the suburbs and wanted to stay downtown. Looking for an affordable boutique hotel downtown, we found a deal for Rouge. Although the hotel was not near our dinner or our plans for drinks, it was still centrally located. It is much easier to walk to the hotel then drive, as it sits in an awkward spot on 16th St. The reception was small but welcoming, and we enjoyed the cold pizza on Saturday morning.

The room itself was very large and comfortable. Unlike tourists, we planned on taking advantage of the hotel by spending the day napping and relaxing, so we were interested in the room as a comfortable space and were not disappointed. Despite being on a busy street, I was able to take a quiet 2 hour nap, just the recovery this teacher/mom of a toddler needed. The bathroom was fine, but the retrofit tub would not be a spot to take a bath. We enjoyed a few treats from the mini-bar, the food was a little more unusual and included some delicious chips.

It was clear the hotel was just resurfaced from a previous owner's shabby hotel, however they do a good job of distracting the eye from the shortcomings. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will recommend it to friends who visit DC.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinghoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Darby
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was my first trip to DC and this hotel was in the perfect location for me to walk to the White House, Dupont Circle and other sites. Loved my stay and will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#80 of 141 in Washington DC
1,271 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,097 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,256 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing