We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An updated, centrally located JW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #66 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The JW Marriott in DC is a big and busy hotel, located just a few blocks from the White House and the National Mall.

The elevator system is a bit odd for a hotel - you are assigned an elevator bank based on the floor you enter into a keypad. I have only seen this type of elevator in massive office buildings. While more efficient, it did feel that this took longer than a typical elevator.

There is a Starbucks in the hotel which is super convenient. The staff was more like an Airport Starbucks vs. a free standing Starbucks so plan a little extra time.

The room seems to be recently renovated and are more modern like newer JW Marriott properties. I had a king bed standard room that had a view of the hotel courtyard. I was able to check in early and was happy just to get a room.

The amenities are the standard Aromatherapy Associates line that are in most JWs. There are coffee makers in the room though they are the standard Marriott ones, not the nicer Illy machines you'll find in some JWs.

Bathrobe, umbrella, mini fridge - check, check, check. Slippers - no check. While there is complimentary water, there are no snacks or mini bar. There is a mini fridge though so you can stock up from a local store. If you're on the concierge floor or a Platinum member, be aware that the lounge is closed on the weekend.

The bathroom is well lit and there's a magnifying makeup mirror with a light. They also stock some cotton balls and q-tips. My one hangup was a lack of hooks in the bathroom to hang the robe or towels.

A nice turn down service also leaves two pieces of good night chocolates - one milk, the other dark.

If you want to stay at a nicer Marriott property close the museums and monuments, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you don't want a walk, request a room closer to the elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWDCManager, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Mila G,

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott for your stay while in Washington, DC. It is our privilege having you stay with us. We value your opinion and encourage your continued feedback regarding our many services.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that your visit to our Starbucks was a bit more time consuming than you would like. I will convey your concerns with the appropriate departments and inform them of the proper standards of service we need to provide to all guests here at JW Marriott.

Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit to JW Marriott in Washington, D.C.

Front Desk Manager
JW Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,043)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Washington, DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed only for one night for a convention. Their official check-in time is 4 pm but they let us check-in early at noon already. We had a king sized bed in room 1569 on the 15th floor. The room looked small and a bit crammed but it was good enough for one night. It had a small couch, tv and a small coffee maker.

They even had small water bottles, chocolate on pillow and mouthwash in the bath room. Very nice touch!

The location is superb since it's only a 5 min walk from the White House and other touristy attractions.

I believe they offer breakfast for a price but there is also a Starbucks in the lobby.
The only downside is the $59 per day valet parking charge.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Washington, DC and sharing your experience from the recent stay and glad that you enjoyed the stay with us. Location of the hotel is very suitable to visit the monuments, museums and the White House. While we understand the parking is charged at a premium, it is on par with all other hotels in the area. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Over the past two weeks, we stayed at 3 Residence Inn's (Philly, Dover, DE, and Baltimore), a Courtyard Inn (Charlottesville) and a JW Marriott (DC). This property was the best but there's a price for that! Great location along Pennsylvania Avenue and in walking distance to several Smithsonian Museums.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Pennsylvani Avenue on the 14th floor which is where the executive lounge is located.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Washington, DC and sharing your experience from the recent stay and glad that you enjoyed the stay with us. Location of the hotel is very suitable to visit the monuments, museums and the White House. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Spent 8 days at this hotel in August 2017. We were disappointed in the size of the room but we got over that and enjoyed the location, location, location. Our room overlooked Pennsylvania Avenue and the top half of the Washington Monument. Nice service, staff and bar area. Hotel is within walking distance to almost everything on the Mall and a cheap Uber drive to anything further. Great stay. Pricey but competitive rates to the area.

Room Tip: a room overlooking Pennsylvania Ave is a nice addition
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Washington, DC and sharing your experience from the recent stay and glad that you enjoyed the stay with us. Location of the hotel is very suitable to visit the monuments, museums and the White House. As you mentioned some rooms in the hotel do have the view of the Washington monument and the sky line of the District. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the JW Marriott in DC the weekend before July 4th. Despite the hotel and the city being busy - the service was outstanding from the moment the valet took the car until check out. We wanted to take a private tour of the city at the last minute - I thought it would be impossible, but Raj at the concierge desk took his time and found the perfect driver for us. I love this property!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Washington, DC and sharing your experience from the recent stay and glad that you enjoyed the stay with us. Location of the hotel is very suitable to visit the monuments, museums and the White House. I will make sure your appreciation of great work is conveyed to Raj at the Concierge Desk. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
2,287 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,196 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
4,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Address: 1330 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €166 - €642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing