We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #72 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I travel often for business, mostly to LA but recently to DC as well. Overall, great stay, friendly staff and comfortable bar & bistro attached.
Expected a little more bang for my buck in terms of the room size and set up, but other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VR_Bianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,799
    1,520
    637
    276
    172
See reviews for
1,030
768
194
1,911
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Overall a very nice experience staying here during a conference. Hotel amenities were excellent, guest room was well appointed and comfortable, and there was a lovely atmosphere in the main hotel areas. By far the best part of the stay was the staff, who were always incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is great-- walking distance to major tourist sites and museums. The only minor negative was the lighting in the guest room-- the bathroom light was pretty poor and, having a window that faced the interior of the hotel, the room did not get any sunlight at any point in the day.

Room Tip: If you prefer a room that gets natural light, definitely ask for a room with windows that face outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I am glad you had an excellent stay. It sounds like your found your room to be comfortable and the staff to be extremely helpful. I will make sure to pass your comment on regarding the lighting in your room. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was in DC for business last week and stayed at the Grand Hyatt. I thought it was a great hotel. I asked for a high floor facing the inside (as had been suggested on TA) and was pleased with the quiet atmosphere. My room was spacious and clean. The front desk staff was very accomodating. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. My only complaint was with the breakfast buffet. The eggs were runny and the bread was nondescript. Also I thought there were too many sweet, high caloric cakey options. I would have liked to have been offered more interesting rolls and semi-sweet brioche. I would definitely stay there again. The location is central and close to the sights.

Room Tip: High floor facing inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

One of my favorite hotels in the DC area. Walking distance to just about everything. Staff is friendly, rooms tidy, beds comfortable, and they have a nice little bar/restaurant that has healthy food choices. Only downside is their fitness room costs $. Take the room with the outside view.

Room Tip: Outside room with view of the DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajscherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My room rate included access to the Regency Club lounge on 12th floor (key required to access) never have I seen such uncontrolled gluttony of families - access is for 2 adults / room - other guests are supposed to pay $30/day. From dawn to dusk there were families with 2, 3, 4 kids swarming into the room with brown bags, trays literally loading up with food and drink (place looked like a swarm of locusts had flown through) - I really doubt that any of them had been honest and paid the $30. I always considered these lounges as a facility mainly for professional, business travellers rather than a cafeteria for kids - Hyatt please enforce your own rules and reclaim what is a much appreciated facility. Also, air con in room was either 'on' (blowing a freezing wind) or 'off'.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmglme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 4*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing