We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience!”
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capitol Hill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marion
1 review
“Worst Experience!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Worst hotel! Not only did I have to take a cold shower and the elevator was broken. The associate that checked me out ran my card twice and I still haven't received a refund! That was SIX MONTHS AGO! They refused to respond to me, and did not respond to the Better Business Bureau!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuestReview5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear "Guestreview5",
Thank you fro bringing this matter to our attention and I must first apologize for the issues you mentioned in your summary that dates back to six months ago. I would like to invite you to contact me directly at your earliest convenience so we can resolve the matter promptly. My email address is iharvey@capitolhillsuites.com or ian.harvey@hersha.com.

I am confident that we can reach a quick resolution and hope that we will be able to restore your faith in us meeting your hospitality needs whenever your travels brings you to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    463
    87
    32
    24
See reviews for
461
425
67
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dego, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Capitol Hill Suites this past month. The location is great. We walked from the Amtrak station (Union Station.) The hotel is in a nice quiet residential area. From the hotel we walked to the Mall to the museums and dinner. The young lady who was working the front desk was very warm and polite. Check-in was fast and easy. The beds were surprisingly comfortable, as were the pillows. The room was very clean. The bathroom could have used a few more towel hooks or bars to hang wet towels. There was not even one on the back of the door. The boxed breakfast was a little odd, but the coffee was really quite good, and since the room had a small kitchenette and table we brought our boxed breakfast up to our room. We will absolutely stay at the Capitol Hill Suites again, next time we are in DC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degobahjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your recent review.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the convenient location and that you got the opportunity to visit some of the historical sites.

We have noted your concern and are reviewing our options to serve you better in this regard.

We look forward to hosting you and your family again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

As normal I did my trip advisor research and decided on the Capitol Hill Suites. My family and I were glad that we made the choice. As many others have noted it is a great location. In addition to be close to the metro station and the capitol it felt like the safest area in DC. You have patrols by both the DC police and Capitol Hill police. I would not be nervous walking in the area anytime day or night. We almost always saw a police officer day or night. The location also has some great local eating and drinking places just around the corner on 2nd and on Pennsylvania. It was fun to eat at more local, reasonable priced options. We thought the actual room was also very nice and very roomy. There is a bit of wear and tear in the bathroom, but nothing unusual. We had a queen bed and pull out. There is also a nice kitchenette with small fridge and microwave. Lots of closet and storage space and a great amount of room to move around.

While we were there work was continuing on renovating the front lobby. But it was never an issue. The continental breakfast was all in the to go boxes but we actually preferred that. It kept the breakfast area from getting too crowded as people would just come and go. But I assume they might be adding tables at a later date(?).

There have been some scattered comments on staff rudeness in previous post. Our experience was the opposite. Everyone we came in contact with was very friendly and helpful! I thought it was one of the best staffs we have experienced at a hotel lately. The only issue was a dc night tour the front desk helped arrange for us. However, the problems were with the tour company and not the front desk. But I have asked they reconsider their tour company suggestion based on our experience.

In regards to price I thought for the location, quality, and services it was well worth the price. Most hotels in the downtown/capitol hill area were at least as expensive per night.

I almost hate to give too good a review as I am concerned that when others find out about Capitol Hill Suites they will be justified in raising the prices! In returning to DC I will have a difficult time staying anywhere else as I can't put a price on the location and safety for this hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest the main building rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We appeciate the feedback.

We are thrilled to learn that you had such a great stay in DC and certainly look forward to your stay with us again whenever you and your family return to the nation's capital.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed at the Capitol Hill Suites to explore Washington D.C. for two days and as many other reviews indicate, the location can't really be much better, very close to the Library of Congress, the Mall and all museums and yet located in a relatively tranquil area, with very little traffic. We were there in August, when temperatures can be high, but can only say that the temperature in the room was perfect and so was the room. The hotel service is excellent and so is the breakfast buffet. From the Capitol Hill Suites it is easy to reach, by foot, the entire Washington Mall and the closest subway station is just a block away. To be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mietzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are glad that you found our convenient location second to none and that you enjoyed the quiet neighborhood and more importantly that you received excellent service.

We look forward to having you and your family with us again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean, and staff was very accommodating and helpful with directions. We were in town for marathon and needed flexibility for late checkout; staff was very gracious to accommodate a reasonable request. Location is very convenient. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. My only complaint was valet service did not include finding a solution for parking. With no spots available on site, we were told we could go park 6 blocks away. Fortunately with the weekend, we were able to find parking on street.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for commenting on your receint stay with us.

We are glad that you loved the convenient location, clean comfortable rooms and that our staff was able to accommodate your request for late checkout.

We look forward to hosting you again next year and hopefully you will be able to secure on site parking.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
256 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
298 reviews
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
853 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Hotel

Property: Capitol Hill Hotel
Address: 200 C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish Hotel on the HillThis boutique lifestyle property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. has just completed a renovation, marked by a more upscale, federalist chic design. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. Great restaurants, shops and sights abound! Large Guest rooms, spacious closets and kitchensAll guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $75.00 cleaning fee. Complimentary breakfast and WifiComplimentary breakfast is served daily from 7 am and 9 am Monday to Friday, and from 7 am until 10 am on weekends. Wireless Internet is also complimentary in guestrooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Capitol Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing