We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #80 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a great boutique hotel in a nice area of Washington DC. It is walking distance of a lot of shopping, Dupont Circle, good restaurants, etc.
The beds are very big and comfortable. The bathroom it's a bit small but then how much you spend in the bathroom... Front desk staff was attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Hi Bella1207,

Thanks for posting a reviewing Topaz here on Tripadvisor! I love our beds so much I bought one for my apartment. So, I completely agree, they're VERYcomfortable. It's great to read that you liked the location and that everyone was nice, too! Come back again soon.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    417
    117
    47
    24
See reviews for
219
312
110
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I like this place. Situated in a safe and beautiful neighbourhood, near to the main attractions of Washington DC.

The hotel has a eco and pet friendly policy which makes it feel all the more welcoming as most guests look happy staying here. I like the room: clean, thoughtful (with a dressing room), minisize bar, and huge flat screen tv and a good view of the neighbourhood. Our room had a king sized bed which was super big and tall which took up a big space in the room. It was luxurious to sleep in but preferring space (since we were three sharing a room), a queen size Bed would suffice. Usd1 breakfast was cool and a cozy touch to the whole experience. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-geok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We were unhappy with our two-star hotel choice in DC and when we were walking back and saw the Kimpton sign decided to take a look. Kelly at the front desk was very nice and offered us a room for $30 a night less than the other terrible hotel! We jumped at it and moved our things immediately. We were really glad that we did because the room was twice as large and there was a bathtub to soak in instead of a small shower. The free wine bar every night is a wonderful feature as you can meet other guests and relax. We have stayed at many Kimton hotels and the Topaz is equally beautiful. It is in a great location close to Dupont Circle and I know we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here while accompanying my husband on business. Rooms are ok, and location good.
Breakfast not included (was last time) and to buy it is a rip off (use one of the many alternatives in the area). Our key had to be reset every night. Someone dropped chewing gum on the floor (2 places - disgusting), dirty towels were left in the room, body lotion not refilled. Big sign on door next to our room saying ice – door locked.
Valet parking as expensive as The Mayflower – and can we agree not same hotel standard. My husband who travels to DC on business regularly will not return, just not up to par.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I've had the chance to stay at three of the Kimpton properties in DC, the Monaco, Topaz and Palomar - the last two back to back this week. The Topaz has really friendly staff and a great location, but I had a series of small snags that took a bit of the shine off my experience.

First the pluses. This is a fairly small hotel with a "boutique" vibe. The staff really goes out if their way to be useful, friendly and engaging. It was impressive how they handled an irritated guest when I was waiting in the lobby. Bed was comfortable and room was large, if very odd shaped. I loved the fluffy towels. I always enjoy the usual Kimpton amenities for their members in the guest reward program (free wifi, wine/happy hour, etc.)

On the down side - poor TV reception (does anyone else look forward to HBO when on the road?), aircon not working properly, no tea restocking (when the tea/teapot is part of the "hotel's story"), no bathmat one day, missing wastebasket the next. The vent in the bathroom could stand to be dusted! Overall, it was rather odd, to be frank, and not my usual experience of Kimpton properties. And the staff tried hard to rectified it and I appreciated that.

I enjoyed a light dinner at the Moroccan themed bar. Good veggie options. Skip the buffet breakfast and go next door to the Tabard Inn or walk down to Connecticut ave for other options. While I love chocolate, m&ms and yogurt, sweet rolls and a bit of fruit does not bode well for a healthy start! ;-) (Hey, Topaz, add some hard boiled eggs and then you have a good proposition!) No green or herbal tea available. The little bar/restaurant area is pretty crowded when there is a group (like ours.)

I stayed my last night at the Palomar - while bigger, more bustling and thus a bit noisier I personally liked the rooms better. But as with all things, we have our personal preferences.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choconancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing