We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not suitable for family with kids. Not suppose have this top rank in Trip Advisor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #77 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Location: 10-15 minutes walking distance to Dupot Circle red metro line. 25 minutes walk to White House.

Hotel Service: SuPer good. Staffs polite n helpful

Room: Very trendy, spacious and clean room. Seems just renovation room.

Hotel got 2 lifts . One of the lifts is under maintenance. ReceptiOn to lobby need go by staircase. This is really not convenience to famiy with children n stroller.

Environment: Office area. Many pub n nightlife around. Not suitable to family with young children. Don't have grocery shop near by.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoraemonCute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 774 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Just a few blocks from the White House in a quiet street near Dupont circle.
Nice building, with rooms quite small for the american standard but big enough for european standards.
The rooms are well furnished and the bed is very good as far as sleeping quality is concerned.
Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UDesideri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We loved the Topaz and couldn't recommend it highly enough. It was our first stay in DC and I struggled to find somewhere that was reasonably priced in a good location and that was in the boutique style that we like. After reading all the Topaz reviews on here, I booked it and so glad we did.

They upgraded us on arrival and gave us a free bottle of wine to welcome us to DC. The room was huge and the staff were super helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed the free wine and nibbles between 5-7pm every night!

The area is great - a few mins walk to the Metro and with lots of cafes and restaurants. There is a Starbucks on the corner. We tried out the BGB diner in the nearby Beacon Hotel for brekkie and Casa Nonna for dinner, which was really lovely.

Our one criticism was that there were two lifts and one was broken which meant you had to wait a while but they told us this and apologised on arrival.

We would definitely recommend and would book again if returning to DC.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was our first stay at a Kimpton hotel and it turned out to be one of the best, if not the best, hotel experiences my wife and I have had in the US. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and sincere.
The rooms were clean, stylish and had plush, comfy beds. I never assume complimentary wireless, happy hour and continental breakfasts are automatically included with stays at hotels of this caliber so their inclusion was surprising but very much appreciated. …and the kids gift bags where just icing on the cake.
We’ll go out of my way on our next trip, where ever it may be, to find a Kimpton hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viaj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We travel to Washington DC fairly often and stayed at the Topaz on the recommendation of friends. It was extremely comfortable, and the staff was just amazing, extremely engaging and welcoming. They hold a lovely wine hour in the afternoon (free), and the rooms are huge, very clean and reasonably priced. The Topaz is centrally located--has very convenient valet parking and also has a small but delightful restaurant. It will certainly be our first choice of hotels from now on!

Room Tip: We chose a room on a higher floor; I'm sure all floors are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kconeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,274 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#82 of 142 in Washington DC
1,873 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#27 of 142 in Washington DC
1,705 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,153 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €108 - €397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing