We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere!”
Review of Martin's Tavern

Martin's Tavern
Ranked #86 of 3,719 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$39
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Georgetown
Description: The historic service, authentic ambiance, and savory comfort food at Martin’s Tavern has remained a Georgetown favorite for nearly a century. Locally owned for four generations since 1933, the oldest family-run restaurant in town, Martin's is a long-standing and beloved local landmark. Come see why scores of Georgetown regulars, Hollywood icons, baseball hall of famers, and the District’s elite all say, "Meet me at Martin’s!"
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We stopped here for a quick lunch. There was a 30 minute wait for a table so we sat at the bar where we stayed for our lunch.

I had the oyster stew which was wonderful and Mrs. M had fried oysters which she loved.

Service was great. Food was excellent and the atmosphere is fun!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2018

If you are looking for a casual bar to have a couple of drinks in Georgetown look no further. The bartender was great, very chatty and informational. It's quite the historic place as well.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank DeirdreMary07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Great food and historical place. Many famous DC people have eaten here and booths and tables are named after them.
Service was great.
Definitely worth it to go to.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NelCalifornai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We met friends at Martin's Tavern before dinner and loved this place. It's one of those old, great Irish spots, which started in 1933 and it has a storied history, e.g., JFK proposed to Jackie in 1953. Whether true or not, this place is great for a bite to eat or cocktail. We enjoyed visiting with friends sitting at the bar and ordered several appetizers: calamari & shrimp; sliders; and mussels. The food was just delicious and very well prepared.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Globe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Had a dinner here after a long cold walking day, around Washington. The service was great, with the restaurant being nice and warm. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Very busy for a Sunday night, but not a long wait for food. Good selection on the menu and tasty. Price was okay for what you ordered. Would go back, if in the area again for sure

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martin's Tavern also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Martin's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing