We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great change of pace”
Review of Occidental Grill

Occidental Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Occidental Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #118 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 14th
Transit: Metrocenter 13 & F
Description: Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great change of pace”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

When you are sight seeing, you can only eat so many hot dogs! We were at the Smithsonian and needed a break from all the tourists, so we headed for the Occidental for lunch. While it was way over budget for us, it was a worthy splurge; the food was excellent, service impeccable and a fun, not stuffy place to be. While they don't have a children menu, the waiter told us they had chicken tenders and pasta for the kids. Way to go, we loved it!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeniceWinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    214
    84
    45
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northern Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Easy valet parking, attentive service, wonderful presentation, & tasting selections: walk over to the Ellipse to see the White House Christmas tree.

Helpful?
Thank GingkoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Who are all Those People?”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Haha! We happened upon the Occidental as it was next to our hotel. Walked in and the walls are covered in portraits! Turned out they are all portraits of past patrons of the restaurant. Have a look around and see you are sitting where some greats have sat! Cool place to go, and the food was good too. I doubt it would be a great "family" restaurant as there's nothing appealing to children. For us, it was a great accidental find!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank shabubs-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experienc, but ....”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Excellent atmosphere, arrived for a 7 course tasting in the "Wine Room" for the first seating on a Saturday and were the only ones in the room! My dinner companion selected the "esoteric" wine pairings with her meal, I abstained. She was very disappointed that after stating repeatedly that she did not enjoy "sweet" wines, the sommelier continued to serve "sweet" wines for majority of the courses. The cuisine on the other hand was beyond excellent, but the expensive unwelcome wine pairings left a bad taste in our mouths!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAB611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location to eat outside”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Beautiful location for patio dining. The foods was delicious, though somewhat pricey. They offer a large selection of micro-brew beers, but only 1-2 "regular" beers. They also stop serving a full lunch in the early afternoon - so the fare they offered was limited, and smaller portions. We stopped in to eat after hitting the museums before we headed out of the city. It would have been nice to have had a full lunch. The service staff was excellent and friendly.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BadTravelHabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Occidental Grill also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Occidental Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing