We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel is a great location for sightseeing around the Mall but not much else going on in the area, especially on the weekends. Bathroom is huge and the housekeeping staff kept the room impeccable. The rest of the staff was just average and waiting for service in the lobby bar was kind of annoying.
Coffee and tea are in the lobby for breakfast.
While the hotel is clean and comfortable, it's really expensive without being luxurious so I probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EydneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear "KingTaco,"

Many thanks for taking the time to post about your recent stay! We appreciate your comments and will share them with the entire team to provide the best experience for you, upon your return, and all of our guests for the future.

Safe travels,

Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,502 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

fantastic hotel. beautiful. great service, service, service. restaurant is a little slow.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear "GHyun,"

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay! Your commentary, while short, to-the-point and succinct, is very helpful in helping us address some areas of improvement.

Safe travels and all our thanks,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I had a business trip here a few months ago and it was great. Beautiful rooms, good food, nice bar and lobby. The place is huge, really fit our needs. My one issue, no fridge in the room and no cups or tea or anything. On a business trip we are given tea and coffee etc. but not in our room. After a long meeting I want a cup with some water or something. They gave water with the turn down service, but jeez provide some extra, those rooms are super dry. Other than that, I can't complain, a really nice and clean hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epoh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear "Epoh84,"

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent business stay. We value your commentary and appreciate you sharing your opinions on how we can improve upon the overall guest experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We just stayed over the weekend at this hotel. Below are my pros, cons, and summary of this hotel.

Pros: Rooms are nice. We were in a suite with a half bath. Location is good if you want to visit the monuments, museums, etc. Doormen and Front Desk staff were very friendly. Food was good and not outrageous. The hotel car was a nice convenience for short rides. They gave some nice stuffed animals to our kids when we checked in which was a nice touch. Free coffee in the mornings was also nice.

Cons: Hotel is not close to any shopping or restaurants. If you are there on the weekends, the CVS closes early (around 7pm) and the Starbucks closed on Friday at 7pm and we didn't see it open until Monday morning (both are across the street). Overall service was well below average. I sat at the lobby bar with my kid and didn't get service until I called the manager after about 20 minutes. The next day I had a manager or assistant Manager (Andrea) ask me to keep our kids quiet in the lobby bar at 5pm on Saturday. We were there for about 10-15 minutes trying to figure out where to grab dinner and the kids weren't all that loud considering we were in a bar and not the high end restaurant.

The concierge were generally unenthusiastic and couldn't recommend any place decent to take our family for dinner plus they lacked any sort of conviction that the restaurant would be kid friendly. The Spa was a complete nightmare for my wife who had her services re-arranged because someone called out sick but they didn't bother to tell my wife. My wife ended up cutting short her massage short because the therapist was terrible. The hotel comped her facial which was nice but she would have rather had a good experience and paid for it rather than have a terrible free experience.

Overall it was a little stuffier and much less kid friendly than all the other Mandarins I've stayed at and much less so than Ritz and Four Seasons. I'm sure it's a great hotel during the week and if you're a business traveler without kids. During the weekends it seems to be much more quiet but the staff isn't as kid friendly as you'd expect. If you're looking for more shopping and restaurants you're better off staying closer to Georgetown. This hotel is really convenient for sightseeing the museums, monuments, etc.

Room Tip: We were in 570 which was a corner suite. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKPTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear "SKPTampa,"

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us following you most recent stay. We value all our guests' comments and use them to improve upon the overall guest experience.

Many thanks and safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed for one night for business. The staff is very pleasant, but also super speedy to check you in and realize that not everyone is on vacation. They were so nice to upgrade me - why I don't know, but I will take it! My room was spotless and the bed extremely comfortable. I ate at their restaurant and my dinner was excellent. The Mandarin does a terrific job at the details and I will always be a fan. One thing - there are not a ton of restaurants, etc that I could tell around outside the hotel - but there was a Starbucks and a CVS - which was great. I would just plan on doing a little restaurant research in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cglasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear "Cglasb,"

Thank you for taking the time following your business trip to post about your recent stay! We know that things can be rather hectic following your return, so it's very much appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €246 - €688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When autumn comes and the weather cools down, Washington gets down to business as it becomes more walkable and much livelier. It’s the perfect time to plan a trip with fun outdoor festivals, live concerts, thought-provoking museum exhibits, along with some of the world’s most recognized monuments, and the nation’s most cherished memorials. With newly renovated guest rooms and only hotel featuring views of the monuments and the water, Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC is at the center of everything. Our guests enjoy short walks to the National Mall, the Smithsonian Institution, and Washington Monument. Soon, guests will be able to stroll over to District Wharf—a brand new development along the waterfront featuring over 20 restaurants, an exciting concert venue called The Anthem, nightclubs with live entertainment, fun shopping, and luxury residences. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing the finest service, dining, design, and spas. Are you a fan? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing