We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Panini”
Review of west wing cafe

west wing cafe
Ranked #103 of 3,719 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Description: Deli store. seat inside 80 , Patio 40 Food : Breakfast , Sandwiches , Salad m Sushi Beverages : Coffee , Espresso , smoothie Frozen Yogurt (seasonal)
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

The cafe is large and open everyday except Sunday. Serves ok breakfasts but better lunches. The sandwiches are really good. Moderately priced for Washington. Staff could be friendlier though.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Dan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

You want quick food but ultra fresh??? Come to the West Wing Cafe. They got awesome fresh Boars Head Deli sandwiches and fresh sushi. Great selection of drinks etc.... They are quick and there's a reason this place is mobbed . This is a lunch must stop.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank TheHopefulTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch on our way to the mall. There was no line at 1 o'clock and from the huge menu we ordered a chicken focaccia and a chicken curry soup which was the daily special. It easily fed two of us. The sandwich had terrific tasting avocado fresh tomatoes and excellent chicken. Our friend got the chipotle chicken which was also excellent with excellent seasoning revealing a complex spicy taste. The restaurant is clean, there is a nice space outside to eat, and the cafeteria style service works well

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 952bradfordb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Featuring Boar's Head deli meats and freshly made salads on choice of breads. Amazing chilled beverage selection and chips. A great place to pick-up a good sandwich at a reasonable price in an expensive part of DC

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank kenbX8001PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This is right down the block from the Hyatt Capitol Hill. When we got to our hotel around 7:00 pm we just wanted food - and boy am I glad I walked in here! We ended up eating here four times over 2 days.

For the area, prices are good. For the area combined with the amount of food? It's quite the bargain. First night we split a Chicken Cobb salad and a Roast Beef sub; either would have been enough for us to share singly, and we're not light eaters. With the food, a bag of potato chips, two sparkling waters and a couple of Lindor truffles I walked out the door at just a few cents over $20. Great loads of rare roast beef and plenty of cobb toppings to make the salad.

First breakfast we were in a hurry so just got bagels and cream cheese - lots of options for both. For lunch we again got a sub - the bacon turkey special came with chips and a bottled water - and combined it this time with a pretty decent Cuban panini.

The final breakfast I got a ham, egg and cheese bagel and the Dearly Beloved the Western Omelet special (included home fries and toast.) Huge bagel sandwich, great big omelet. My only regret is they have one size for their iced coffee... but for iced coffee and iced tea they offer $1.50 refills and it's worth it.

It's also a fun little grocery place. Chips, snacks, a massive cold drinks case.... they also serve sushi but we didn't have a chance to try. All in all I was massively happy with this place.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed west wing cafe also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to west wing cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing