We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shrimp and Crab cakes ...”

CIRCA at Foggy Bottom
Reserve with OpenTable
CIRCA at Foggy Bottom is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 3,666 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This is a sister to the flagship store at Dupont Circle.
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Great place for drinks and dinner. We had the shrimp and crab cakes and they were excellent. The mimosa was good too! Gets very crowded and noisy at dinner time with locals stopping for a drink on the way home. Located right across the street from the Foggy Bottom station.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve G, Brand Marketing Manager at CIRCA at Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Thanks so much for joining us! We are happy that you enjoyed the shrimp, crab cakes, and mimosa!

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Genevieve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 325 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2016

We really enjoyed popping in here for a couple of beers after a long sightseeing walk. Greg the bartender was very attentive although he was super busy covering for another staff member. Thanks for the directions to Georgetown.

Definitely a place to come back to!

1  Thank EscapeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve G, Brand Marketing Manager at CIRCA at Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thanks so much for visiting us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your drinks, and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Genevieve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We discovered this restaurant right across the Metro and decided to pop in for a bite before returning to the hotel after a long walk in the sun.

The staff was very friendly and directly straight away to a table for 2 after we refused a high table located on the left hand side of the entrance. Our drinks were brought straight away and quickly after our meals besides the complimentary iced water.

The restaurant is described by their staff as a small place with only 14 tables, yet there are lots of seatings outside and it seems to be packed with suits from nearby governmental buildings.

Professional, efficient and good food delivered fast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve G, Brand Marketing Manager at CIRCA at Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you so much for visiting us and for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Genevieve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

We found CIRCA at Foggy Bottom on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a try based on the reviews and the menu choices. When we arrived, there was a private party in the outside bar and the inside was packed...definitely a party atmosphere...very fun. The nice surprise was service was not impacted by the crowds. We had reservations, were seated immediately, and received excellent service from our server who had a great sense of humor and was very personable. (Wish I could remember his name.)

We ordered the bison burger and the bourbon pork loin. Both were cooked perfectly and were delicious. I also had the blackberry margarita, fresh muddled blackberries, so good I had a second one for dessert!

We'll definitely go back to CIRCA when in DC again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve G, Brand Marketing Manager at CIRCA at Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

We are so happy that you found us on TripAdvisor and chose to visit us based on the reviews you read! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your bison burger, bourbon pork loin, and blackberry margarita(s), as well as our service! We look forward to seeing you again when you're back in DC.

All the best,
Genevieve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

I ate here after riding around on segways for the last 2 hours checking out DC. We were immediately seated with the option of inside or outside. The seating is a little close (similar to a cheesecake factory setting), but overall a great experience.

With reasonably priced food, we got the calamari, BBQ chicken flatbread and cauliflower w/ cheese. Everything was really good and came out fast. The only negative was that the woman came over and would reach across us many times to pour our water (then put the large water container back on the table) We could have easily done it ourselves. At first it was nice, then it became annoying.

They had the Champions league final on the large TV which was awesome.

Overall I would come back here for sure! The food was great, the service was top notch (except for the excessive water pouring) and the price was reasonable. Go check it out!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevieve G, Brand Marketing Manager at CIRCA at Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Robert,

Thanks so much for visiting us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the calamari, BBQ chicken flatbread, and cauliflower. I will pass your feedback regarding the water pouring along to the team.

We hope you'll visit us again next time you're in DC!

Best,
Genevieve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CIRCA at Foggy Bottom also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to CIRCA at Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing