We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Ritz Carlton experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Ranked #13 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Pretty good Ritz Carlton experience”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Small rooms and inconsistent (though very polite) service in the lobby restaurant, and courtyard views aren't great. Location is adjacent to George Washington University, convenient to Georgetown, and there are a number of good, nice comparable hotels within the general area (Park Hyatt, Fairmont, Four Seasons), and they're all about the same in terms of quality. Pricing for this Ritz is relatively attractive however. This area, which is very nice, is also reasonably convenient to the sights either via subway or by a long, pleasant walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGosivetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    262
    96
    40
    25
See reviews for
289
202
49
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I want to start this by saying that the people who work at this hotel are just wonderful; they were courteous, friendly, and very helpful. I wish I could say I just loved it because of them. But, it's pretty ordinary inside. The lobby is attractive, but not particularly functional. The rooms could be found in almost any hotel, and the views: yuk!! I heard the same thumping that other reviewers commented on; couldn't tell if it was weights dropping, or doors slamming, or what, but it was annoying. I was there for a conference, and am so glad I did not pay Ritz-like prices for this experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We got off to a very good start at this hotel. Amy at the front desk was welcoming, pleasant, efficient, and best of all, explained the details of our package thoroughly.

So off we went to our room. Our first impression was that we would be happy in our room partly because it did not have the standard hotel room layout. This room was longer at the window wall, instead of the window wall being the short end of the room. The room was still standard Ritz size with the same amount of furniture, just in different places, and with an extra window which is a nice bonus. The blue and gold color scheme was attractive, and the room had a nice luxurious look to it. The bathroom was spacious with separate shower, tub, and water closet. The sand colored marble was particularly beautiful.

Once we settled in we noticed the room had some functional issues. The closet was just about the smallest we have ever encountered at a hotel. We were on a short trip so we did not have much luggage, but if we did, most of it would have been on display in the room, which is something we do not like. There was however, decent drawer space. The door into the water closet was extremely tight when exiting, even for average sized people. We are not sure these problems exist in other rooms since this was our first stay at this hotel. Later we noticed that the two chairs at the desk were very marked up at the legs with what looked like paint. We thought we could solve having to look at these marks by reversing the chairs, but the backsides were just as marked up. Finally, there was no decorative pillow or throw on the bed, which can be seen in some of the pictures on the hotel web site. All kind of minor issues on their own, but when you add them up it changes your impression in a negative way. If we were there for a longer stay I think we would have asked to see another room.

The staff at this hotel was especially friendly and really tried to go the extra mile to make our stay pleasant. At breakfast, I looked over the paper selection and walked away empty handed because the WSJ was not published on that day, President’s Day. A staff member, Edward, noticed and asked what I was looking for and tried to find the weekend WSJ that I had missed out on and was hoping was still available. He could not find a copy for me, but I was very impressed that he tried. A valet staff member went over directions with me in great detail to make sure I understood them.

The easily accessed Sports Club/LA is the hotel gym. It is a very nice mega gym that even includes sports court activities and a light restaurant/snack area. The pool, however, was not super sized and only had four lanes that were occupied during my visit, so I was unable to swim my laps. Since the gym is so large, the hotel feels it can charge fifteen dollars for a visit. For most people this gym would be overkill and the gyms and pools at most Ritz hotels are good enough and free, so I wish the hotel did not have this charge. It could be a deterrent to using the gym or staying here if you really want to workout.

The hotel seems small with an elegant clublike feel. The location is central and easily walkable to many sites including wonderful Georgetown, and just blocks away from the metro. There is not much going on in the immediate neighborhood.

Overall, a stay here is a good choice, but there are many good options in Washington DC.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms get afternoon sun and odd numbered rooms get morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

All is good but I am coming to a conclusion do not expect much from the staff you come in contact with They will make you look at them at the front desk as they keep on answering phone calls. They will pick up a new call before you get taken care of. It was hot and room ac was not workIng I asked for a fan but it was easy to move me. Which they did but same problem. I talked to the manager she was amazing went above and beyond. Next time just talk to the managers and just don't get annoyed of front desk ignores you and answers questions it's ritz culture.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhardas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

On a business trip to Washington for a conference and the Ritz-Carlton was flawless. Great check in, great and quiet rooms, great celebrity chef restaurant on the corner and not far from the subway.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room so that you get no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravCT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,105 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Address: 1150 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1219 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Carlton, Washington, D.C. is in the middle of it all, with impeccable service, exceptional accommodations and exclusive amenities. Our hotel is one of the city's most refined luxury hotels - an urban retreat where you can relax within the charging energy of a powerful city. Located in the heard of D.C.'s attractions, we are less than a mile from The National Mall and 1 mile from National Landmarks and Memorials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing