We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places in Cap Hill!”
Review of Senart's Oyster and Chop House - CLOSED

Senart's Oyster and Chop House
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Capitol Hill
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I like to frequent Senart's for their weekend brunch menu. Brunch is from 10-3 and you can get all you can drink mimosas for $15 a person. Unlike other restaurants bottomless mimosas, theirs are mostly champagne with a bit of orange juice. We've ordered most of their brunch selections over time and have never been disappointed. The Saturday bartender, Joshua, is excellent! He's super friendly and your drinks will always be full.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank elyssam32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017

Much nicer inside than you expect! Shrimp cocktail, oysters, crab cakes, fish, steak, all were very good. Very good service and enough to take home for a late night snack!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dired30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We called it lunch but they called it brunch. Took a short walk from Eastern Market to Senart's in mid-afternoon to find a brunch menu. 3 of us enjoyed various Crab Cake options and the other had a very tasty omelette. Good service, too!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Northern_Traveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We stopped in just before the Super Bowl and had drinks and nachos (not normally on the menu). The drink menu is a bit misleading--they advertise happy hour, but the drink menu is not on happy hour--only well drinks. So the drinks are good, but $12. The nachos were also $12. It was a pretty pricey, pre-Super Bowl visit.
The bartender was very pleasant and joked with us.
The appetizers (not surprisingly) is almost all shellfish.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank RichardinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

While in town for a convention, my boyfriend and I wandered onto 8th Street over from Eastern Market. As it was late in the afternoon, we unfortunately missed lunch. Luckily, Senart's was open with a bar menu available. The wooden interior lent some charm, as did the skylight in the bar area. However, there was a musty smell, though with an old building in sometimes humid conditions, perhaps that's to be expected. We were seated at the booth by the bartender, who stepped away from the bar to serve us. Service was friendly and efficient. We split some raw oysters to start. My boyfriend had a Cesar salad while I indulged with a fried oyster sandwich. The bartender checked to see we were satisfied a few times, so again, kudos for the service.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BnMadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Senart's Oyster and Chop House also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing