We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
1890 Victorian Guest House, #2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1890 Victorian Guest House, #2
Bright Living Room w/Sofabed Front Garden w/Cast Iron Staircase
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
1890 Victorian Guest House, #2
Bright Living Room w/Sofabed
Front Garden w/Cast Iron Staircase
Bright & Beautiful Living Room on Second Floor
Bright Kitchen
W&D in Closet & Full Size Refrigerator
Bright Bathroom on 2nd Floor
Relax on the rear deck overlooking the flagstone patio and garden
Fedex and Starbucks are just around the corner!
Marine Commandant's House is only 3 blocks away!
The circulator bus is a great way to get around town.
Union Station is only a 15 minute walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jatenne9
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, perfect location”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We did a lot of research for a vacation rental, as we always do when we travel. We thought this would fit us perfectly and it surely did. We stayed on the top floor unit, just because I like not having people walking around above me, especially in an older home. It is beautifully painted, designed, furnished and updated. The queen bed in the bedroom and furniture in the LR were very comfortable. Plenty of storage for clothing, packed items.Good wifi and mobile phone connection. Good instructions for secure entry and locking of doors.
This is such a great location, 2 blocks from the Metro, which we used every day during our 8 day visit. There are so many good restaurants nearby on 8th Street and more on Pennsylvania. The Eastern Market and the Yes! organic market provided some healthful produce and quick meals. It's a beautiful quiet neighborhood with many young families, professionals, and older retired residents.
Kirk responded immediately when we had some problems with the washer/dryer and a couple of other minor issues. We enjoyed meeting him and his wife.
Yes, the staircase is narrow and steep. I would not have been able to get my bag up the stairs by myself. My strong husband had a bit of trouble but that is what you get with older Victorian homes.
Book ahead; this is a popular area and property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatnJohnC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location, wonderful apartment.”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Ideally placed near the Eastern Markets metro, local restaurants, EasternMarket food hall, and amongst the lovely Capitol Hill Houses. We loved our short stay in this apartment, and even managed a relaxing drink on the balcony in warm April sunshine. Lovely spotless rooms, tastefully decorated and with a superb kitchen. Also Kirk couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. Even had a great chat to a local neighbour who recognised us as visitors and asked about our trip!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
2 reviews
“Wonderful apartment and location.”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The apartment was exceptionally clean, updated and the perfect layout for my family. The children slept on the pullout couch in the living area - which had a door we could close. The kitchen is located at the back of the apartment with a nice balcony. This layout was perfect as I get up early to work - the separation made it so that I didnt wake anyone up.

The apartment is 1/2 block from the metro and around the corner from some fantastic restaurants. We had an awesome breakfast at eastern market, dinners several nights on 8th street, and donuts from District Doughnuts one morning - awesome! Also great restaurants towards the Capitol - we love "We the Pizza." I also recommend Ted's - awesome dinner and the dessert pop tarts are a must.

The location is perfect too - one stop up from Capitol South - on the nice days we would walk to the Capitol.

Highly recommend the apartment - Kirk's customer service is great too. He sends emails with links to activities and attractions, asks how things are going mid-trip - all very nice. We were allowed to drop our bags before check-in and pick them up after check-out to maximize our time.

We expect to make this our go to place each time we are in DC (daughter lives there).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the apartment layout
Liked least: We couldnt get the wifi to work, but I didnt worry about it as we were too busy. I am sure if I would have asked for help, Kirk would have helped me.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbo_fro...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is absolutely as represented on Trip Advisor. It really is that close to Eastern Market Metro station (which is perfect for a tourist to get to many of the sights in Washington D.C. and also great if you are flying into/out of Reagan National Airport). The pictures accurately reflect what is a quality apartment.

We stayed here for 6 nights and just loved it - it was relaxing and very comfortable and had so many eating choices close by (mostly on the street behind) that we were spoilt for choice. This apartment is on the top floor (2nd floor by US counting) and there is another apartment below on the ground floor and also a basement apartment (not sure if it is also available or not). We had no noise issues other than on our last night when we could clearly hear a crying baby in the apartment below (it was only visiting) and also hear one of the occupants below having a telephone conversation from our bedroom.

There is no dining room, but there is a table in the kitchen that seats 3 (total number of stools) and we found it perfect for our needs. The lounge is spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen is well appointed and the stove was fantastic. The washer and clothes dryer are in the kitchen (out of sight in a cupboard) and they were perfect for us at the end of a long trip.

Another reviewer has said the bed was small, but we found it more than large enough for a couple and quite comfortable. Best of all it is in its own bedroom.

This apartment was so much more comfortable, spacious and relaxing than staying in a hotel room or even a B&B because. It was our home away from home.

Kirk the owner was so helpful and so responsive to our emails both before and after booking - a real pleasure to deal with throughout!

The only negative is that this is the upstairs apartment and the stairs leading up to it are a bit narrow and steep when you are carrying your bags up or down. This was not an issue for us, however, but you do need to be aware of it.

If we come back to Washington DC, there is nowhere else we would consider staying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So relaxing and comfortable
Liked least: The stairs, but even this was not a big issue for us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carreen B
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the place”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We needed a rental for quick weekend pre business meeting trip. We were 3 ladies, all coworker friends who had traveled together before and I decided to check trip advisor's vacation rentals when I fouod this: 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom 2nd floor apt in a fully restored Victorian on Capital Hill, very affordable for th rewicker couch, ceiling fan, big tree and a grassy yard below. Kirk is a wonderful host, provided directions, advice, and provided info on the apt and all it's charm. We stayed for two nights, it was warm outside but cooler at night on the porch. We didn't want to leave. Could have easily stayed for a week! We strolled around the streets, had dinner at open air restaurants (medium rare has a killer spicy meatball pizza and also the apple candied pecan salad, best salad ever)
With the combination of the beautiful, comfortable apt, historical quaint surroundings, proximity to the capital, all of the monuments, museums and restaurants, the metro, the buses, in cooler temps, I would have hiked more, Eastern Market (similar to Fanuiel Hall) and the patio, this is the place to stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$225
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing