We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful staff, very welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #57 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Freehold, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful staff, very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Everyone, (except perhaps some bellhops), were friendly, forthcoming with local info, and went out of their way to help, including looking for and finding one birthday candle. The breakfast buffet was nicely stocked and the made to order omelets were excellent, with some really good french toast. The rooms were large and nicely furnished. Street noise is reduced if you get a room on a higher floor (the hotel is just a couple of blocks from the main attractions).

Room Tip: Street noise is reduced if you get a room on a higher floor (the hotel is just a couple of blocks fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you taking the time to write a response.

I am glad you found the breakfast buffet nice and the staff were helpful and friendly, as they can help make or break your trip. I appreciate the feedback.

Thank you once again. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    1,103
    273
    87
    30
See reviews for
898
688
150
637
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at one of the newly renovated rooms (the smell of the renovation is about the only thing I can criticise, except for the air conditioning, which was blowing like crazy, but then again, I'm European so I'm not really used to an airco) for 4 nights. Rooms are spacious and there's free wireless internet.
The staff is very friendly, they helped obligingly and fast, from the concierge to the kitchen staff!

I had only 1 day of sightseeing, the hotel was ideally situated near the metro station so I could reach the Mall in no time (walking is possible too). There are quite a lot of good restaurants within walking distance.
I would recommend this hotel for business trips, since they also offer seminar rooms for meetings etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leithian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do try to be accommodating to those traveling for both business and pleasure, and I am glad you got to do a little of both. I apologize for the disturbances you may have had with the A/C and with the smell of the new rooms.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

You can hardly beat this place for its location: a couple of blocks from the White House, in the middle of everything, close to restaurants and other attractions. In the midst of being totally remodeled, some floors still under construction. Room was nice, staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly-remodeled ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Royan17200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you were able to make use of excellent location, from the sights to restaurants nearby. Thank you for the feedback and we hope we made your stay enjoyable.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Terrific hotel directly across the street from McPherson Square Metro. Hilton quality with a cozy, home-like atmosphere and friendly staff! My room was comfortable, spacious and immaculate. There's a coffee pot and mini fridge in the room. You can buy breakfast downstairs in the comfy dining area. There's a Cosi and some other inexpensive choicesi nearby. Coffee is free in the lobby, where you can enjoy it by the fireplace!

The hotel is being renovated, but not in a way that's intrusive or noisy (it's happening one floor at a time). There is a small but well-equipped gym in the hotel with great quality equipment (including built-in TVs). It's right next to a small indoor pool. My room didn't have a view (and in fact, faced another part of the building and other rooms), but I've seen DC before so that didn't matter. In fact, the upside was that I couldn't hear a peep of street noise and slept very well. The elevators are a little slow, but the hotel management knows this and is working on it (there's a big sign in the lobby about improvements that are in progress and that is one of them).

While staying there, I looked at a suite to see if it could accommodate a possible return visit w/ my family. It has two rooms - a pull-out sofa in the living room and a king-sized bed in the bedroom. You could fit a family of four here comfortably, or squeeze in a 5th on a rollaway or air mattress. Still, I prefer the Embassy Suits in Dupont Circle for my family b/c we have three kids and we can get a room with two beds and a pullout. But the location of the Hilton Garden Inn, right across from the Metro, cannot be beat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pugmeister2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for writing a review.

I am glad that your stay was pleasant and the location was key. Thank you for your patience and understanding with the renovations when they were underway and with improvements we are constantly making.

Thank you once again for the feedback. We hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, MN
Level Contributor
183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I tagged along with my husband on a business trip. . . . and this hotel was chosen because of the proximity to his meetings, but it was not too far from all of the historical sites of the city either.

Washington DC is really a walk-friendly city, so it was no problem finding and getting to the Washington Monument/Mall and Smithsonian. Spending much of my time alone while my husband was in meetings, I felt very safe in the neighborhood going to and from places.

We are use to staying at Embassy Suites, and Hampton Inn's where breakfast is included. This Hilton Garden Inn had a nice restaurant that served a good breakfast buffet, and had a breakfast menu as well. Prices were a little high. Best value is the buffet . . .

Everyone was friendly and helpful through out the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissaMoorhead_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad this hotel proved useful for the business trip, as well as a good location for seeing the sights. I am sorry if the breakfast buffet was not the best price-wise and I hope it was not too much of a problem.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon, for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing