We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/Odd Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Ranked #47 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The location of the hotel was perfect. Any easy walk to they typical DC attractions and a metro stop nearby with a straight line to the Navy Yard. The valets/bell hops were great. They were helpful & efficient. They offered bottled water to guests as we left the building & directions.

Our room however was odd. There was a column in the middle of the room. The chair of course was blocked by the column and thus the TV as well. There was little room between desk and bed so the desk could not be pulled out to use. The bathroom was so small that you had to turn around in 2*2 ft area between shower door & wall to close the bathroom door. The shower door couldn't open if the bathroom door was open. The mattress needs to be changed since we rolled to the center. On the plus side the room was very quiet.

The fitness center is in 2 separate rooms. Three treadmills & 2 ellipticals in one & a bike and weights in the other. The rooms were too warm for working out and the one near the pool smelled strongly of chlorine. Also the provided towels are a little large for wiping your brow while running. The one room does provide TV's on the equipment and headphones.

We would come back again but don't want the same room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 605.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAJ1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robynn H, Director of Sales at Courtyard Washington Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m thrilled to see that the location was perfect and our valet/bellhop warmly greeted you were “helpful and efficient”. Although we missed several opportunities to exceed your expectations, it’s great to see that you’ll return, and allow us another opportunity to provide you a flawless experience.

Our building, which was built in 1891, was home of the city’s first bank, Washington Loan and Trust Company/Riggs Bank. Because of the historic significance of the building, we’re listed on the National Register of Historic Places in Washington, DC. This honor requires us to preserve the building’s original and natural beauty, and limits our ability to make structural renovations.

We can however ensure that during your next visit, we reserve a more suitable room, that's not “oddly shaped”. When you’re ready to make your reservation, feel free to contact the front desk so they can assist you with your arrangements.

Thank you again for your valuable comments. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at several Marriott courtyard hotels so that's why we chose to stay here for our two night stay in DC.
The hotel is in an excellent position, about 15 minutes from both Raegan Airport and the station. It is easy walking distance to all the main tourist attractions - White House, National Mall and museums. Just across the road from the Spy Museum which our teenage boys enjoyed.
We asked for a high floor corner room which we got. The entrance to the hotel is stunning, the room we stayed in let it down a wee bit. We had a double double room with a day bed which was excellent sleeping accommodation, the bathroom had a bath with shower over. Generally the room was fine but a little dated in decor and felt a little tired and in need of a spruce up.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay here, would stay again and recommend to others but feel it could do with a little TLC.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank clairemsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Wow, talk about a beautiful hotel. I'll start by saying the architecture of this hotel was breathtaking and the renovation from bank to hotel was flawless. We arrived on a Tuesday in the afternoon after driving from Virginia Beach. Although traffic in front of the hotel was congested, the valets performed an amazing ballet of checking people in, moving cars and unloading luggage. We approached the front desk and were greeted by some of the friendliest and most efficient front desk crews I have ever seen. We were checked in by Amin Muslin. He was awesome. So kind and informative. He is the standard that all front desk personnel should strive for. He is excellent. We had a corner room that was beautiful. It was very roomy, super clean and the view was unbelievable.The breakfast downstairs was delicious and we had a wonderful dinner at Gordon Biersch which is conveniently located in the hotel. We would roam for miles every evening and anything you could want or need was within walking distance. There is absolutely no negatives with this hotel. I just can't say enough good things about the staff. From the housekeepers to the front desk, everyone was well trained and did their job well. I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diannecalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

On a recent trip to D.C. we stayed here and were very happy. We are a taller family of 4 and although the room was smaller that most typical rooms, we were comfortable and the rooms were in very good condition. Parking was $50/night on top of the room but being in walking distance to the National Mall and quite a few places to eat it was worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

This hotel is centrally located and within easy walking distance to the major tourist attractions. The International Spy Museum is across the street and the Metro Station is a short walk. The staff are wonderful and were extremely helpful. The rooms are well kept. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
834 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
5,008 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Convention Center

Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1404
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €92 - €382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing