We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,447)
Filter reviews
3,447 results
Traveller rating
2,353
799
181
73
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,353
799
181
73
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor juniper restaurant presidents club health club corner suite beautiful hotel m street foggy bottom lobby bar concierge desk lincoln memorial room was spacious fitness center upon check white house few blocks metro station
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 3,447 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018

I stayed at the fairmont for the Marine Corp Marathon. From check-in to check-out the service was beyond my expectations. The hotel location is great, located close to the Metro and a few blocks from all the wonderful shopping and dining in Georgetown. We stayed on the gold floor, which I would highly recommend. Opal who works the gold floor is so friendly and accomodating. She was great in helping plan and make suggestions for activities for the day and following up to see how everything went.The breakfast in the morning was delicious, upscale, and unique. It is not your typical free hotel breakfast. It feels like you are staying the night and eating breakfast at a friend or families house.....only your host is an amazing chef, with impeccable design taste, who is also a neat freak, and apparently owns a hotel. For breakfast they had fruit each morning, the most amazing scrabbled eggs, served in adorable little ramicens, a Le Creuset pot of pancakes or waffles, oatmeal on request, meat and cheeses, my absolute favorite muesli, cereals, breads, pastries and coffee/lattes/cappuccinos. The gentlemen working breakfast was so friendly and greeted and served everyone like he was their best friend. In the evening they served appetizers and desserts.Our room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was also large with a shower were amazing water pressure! The hotel itself is very updated, with beautiful decor and the hotel lobby bar was also busy with people socializing, but in a good way. Each staff person we met was so friendly and accomodating; the customer service greatly exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, General Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Janet T,

We love checking the boxes for your perfect hotel stay.
Thank you for sharing your experience.

Please come back soon,

Sincerely,
Mark Huntley,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed for four nights at the Fairmont in DC. It was easy to reach in a taxi from the airport - about 45 mins from both Baltimore or Dulles.
The room was clean and big enough for all of us and cleaned very well each day. There’s a Happy Hour in the bar from 5pm each day, which was handy!

It’s a 10 Minute walk to Georgetown from the hotel and about 20 mins down Pennsylvania Avenue to the White House so the hotel is in a great place.

Loads of taxis always available at the hotel too if you’re not up to walking and they looked after our bags after we checked out too.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jamesrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, General Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Jamesrock,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mark Huntley,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

The hotel is classic and beautiful. Large rooms with nice amenities. They seem to be slowly and carefully modernizing, keeping the character. The lounge seems to be a nice place to hang out and socialize which is nice for a solo business traveler. The location is great - about 10 minutes to the metro. Close to Georgetown restaurants and shops. Easy access to the Rock Creek Trail which you can run to the monuments (~2 miles to the Lincoln Memorla, MLK monument, etc.) There is a full gym below the hotel with classes (Yoga, BodyPump, Spinning), weights, cardio machines 50 ft saltwater lap pool, whirlpool, sauna, and steam room. All the classes except crossfit are free for hotel guest and they even give you a free, large bottle of water. Really nice amenity!

Warning: The toiletries are strongly perfumed (Rose?) so if you have an issue with strong scents, don't depend on using their lotion. It's like wearing perfume. The gym lotion is more neutral though.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SDHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, General Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear SDHopper,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mark Huntley,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We stayed at this property for a friend's wedding and from the moment we contacted them throughout our visit, we had a lovely time. They even found my reading glasses I left behind in a hallway and returned them minutes after my inquiry. Yes it is pricey--$ 40 for two drinks at the bar, but its a mile from the White House and around the corner from all the shopping you need. Shout out to Christopher Nguyen, our concierge who correctly advised us to dine at 1789. Memorable weekend!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, General Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear JamesMaxx,

Thank you for your review. I will share you comments with Christopher and our entire team. We all look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mark Huntley,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Staff were awesome from driving into the driveway to checking to checking out. The ladies who cleaned the room were the most respectful. Every day good morning, good afternoon Mr and Mrs.The only bad part was making the reservation. I had a free night on the third night. Phone reservation denied the free night saying I had to discuss the issue with the hotel.. While when I did the hotel denied the third night free and said I had to have it booked when I made the reservation. I argued and lost. Staff great!....Corporate/reservation not good!!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Sherpa34173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWDC, General Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Sherpa34173,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please know that we will look into the challenge you encountered when making your reservation.

Sincerely,

Mark Huntley,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews