We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with fantastic beds in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #13 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with fantastic beds in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Fantastic beds!! The hotel is quiet but not boring and only a 5 minute walk to a Metro station. This is a good hotel for a business function or for personal travel. The rose-scented products are nice and they keep the marble floors sparkling clean. The food is very tasty!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bakercinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you kindly Bakercinn! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you had a pleasant stay. “Fantastic beds” and a “good location” are critical components of any great hotel stay. We’re glad that you enjoyed them.

The rose scented products are a signature scent that Le Labo developed for Fairmont. You can find them in all of our locations around the world. We appreciate your compliments toward the “sparkling clean” floors and “very tasty” food. Our Housekeeping and Culinary teams work very hard and are excellent at what they do. Thank you for mentioning it!

We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    645
    147
    59
    33
See reviews for
703
763
132
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Fairmont is an excellent hotel, however, the food (at Jupiter) is extraordinarily OVERPRICED for what you get. Get your coffee at Starbucks across the street. :) The rooms are clean and service far exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for the five-star review Erin G! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We love hearing that the service far exceeded your expectations! That’s what we strive for.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

The staff were amazing - so attentive and polite! The hotel itself was beautiful and the rooms comfortable, clean and very spaceous. Would stay again without hestitation. A special mention to the doormen and women who were helpful, always keen to hold the door and had a smile (even in the cold!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SamFranUKinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much SamFranUKinCA! We’re honored to be your first TripAdvisor review. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and received the service that we strive to offer. “Attentive and polite” are very apt ways to describe our team. Such professionals!

Our doormen and women are truly exceptional and we appreciate you taking the time to compliment them. We’re proud of all the praise our team earns!

We’re very glad to hear that you would stay again without hesitation and look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough of how wonderful this hotel was. It truly is an elegant, traditional hotel with modern updates that made it perfect. When we arrived we were met at the curb by staff and instantly felt welcome. They checked us in with an iPad right in the lobby and upgraded us to the gold level floor. The room was great. Bed was super comfy and the benefits of staying on the gold floor were awesome! 5 star breakfast every morning, delicious appetizers every night and great desserts from 9 to 10pm - all included!!!! Plus a perfectly appointed honor bar. It was a perfect stay at the fairmont! We cannot wait to go back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gtowner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much gtowner01! What a wonderful review! We’re so glad that you enjoyed the experience.

Fairmont Gold is a truly exceptional offering and we are very happy that you enjoyed it. And that you got to experience the iPad check-in!

We appreciate you sharing your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Washington, DC Fairmont is one of my "go to" places when staying in town and rarely disappoints. To be fair, even though I am a President's Club member, I also stay at other hotels including the Park Hyatt (directly across the street and also a very nice hotel), as well as the nearby Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton and others in town, mostly because the hotels, very much including the Fairmont, really manipulate the rates based on whatever is going on in DC (conventions, meetings, political events etc) and at times, can make staying unaffordable if not ridiculous and absurd, even for their best guests. So you are really forced to check the market before booking. That aside, the rooms are lovely and well cared for and the overall facility is well run and first class. The location is within walking distance of Georgetown, is in the safest of neighborhoods, and is also walking distance to great restaurants and bars. You will not go wrong staying here and if not for the wild swing in nightly rates, I'd probably stay all the time. If the rates happen to be absurd, check the Park Hyatt or even the Westin (also across the street) or nearby Marriott, though neither are as groomed or upscale as the Fairmont.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room facing the courtyard. It will be far more quite and is insulated from st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topshelfplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much topshelfplease! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are grateful for your Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown loyalty. We love hearing that we are guests’ “go to” hotel in Washington.

We apologize for the rate changes based on availability; it sounds like you really know the D.C. marketplace!

Thank you again for making us your hotel of choice,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,154 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Property: Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing