We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A stay at the Fairmont is always a pleasure. From the inviting lobby to the first class fitness center, the attention to detail is outstanding. Even the in room coffee is good.

Ask about gym clothes and loaner bikes if you forget your gear. The lobby bar is lively when the pianist plays in the early evening. Cilantro offers good (but pricey) food options.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXBeachPatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,437 - 2,441 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a review of the Gold floor, which is essentially a home away from home. The staff makes it very special; they know me by name when I check in. The rooms are large and quiet. The food in the concierge lounge is very good and plentiful. I usually eat that instead of having breakfast in the restaurant. At night, I enjoy the chocolate fondue with strawberries.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HPLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We loved this hotel! Everything about this hotel exudes class. Beautifully decorated, extremely service-oriented and warm staff, and the rooms were very comfortable and posh!

This was our first family trip in D.C. so we wanted something classy, moderately priced, and in great area of D.C. This fits the bill! The rooms were nicely furnished and the bathrooms were very clean. The high-end toiletries were a nice plus, too. It was also nice to have a electronic safe. We had our car valeted throughout our stay (placed in their underneath garage).

Btw, Walgreens is only a few blocks walking distance from the hotel if you need anything. And just as close, is "Bread and Chocolate" cafe. Yum - great for breakast and pastries!!

If we return to D.C., we will definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funtravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I had the pleasure of staying two nights for an on-site business meeting. Wow, I wish every business meeting I travel for was held at this hotel. Service was outstanding from the moment I stepped out of the taxi. The room was beautiful and well-appointed. One of the things I dread when staying at a hotel is the typical awful in-room coffee. I need good java before getting out of my pjs. Behold, The Fairmont has Keurig coffee makers with Green Mountain coffee. Yes!! Located a quick walk away from Georgetown for those looking for dining outside of the hotel or shopping.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank berryme03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed overnight at the Fairmount for a business meeting and wished I could have moved in! The hotel is beautifully furnished, elegant without being fussy, and well equipped for both business and pleasure visits. Besides the luxe touches that have become almost standard, like comfy beds and robes and abundant desk outlets, the Fairmount includes details that other hotels would do well to add, such as snake-neck reading lamps attached to the bed that cast a cool spotlight right on your page; in-room Keurig coffee makers; and window panels that actually open for some fresh air. Even the coffee service at our meeting included classy touches like flavored syrups, and there were gigantic hot soft pretzels and mustard instead of the usual gluey cookies. One thing I can't comment on is price, because my room was prepaid, but I'll definitely check this place out on my next tourist trip to DC.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#12 of 142 in Washington DC
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,252 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1408 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €167 - €616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is pleased to announce that all of our guestrooms are newly renovated as of June 01, 2016. The newly renovated guestrooms, suites and Fairmont Gold experience transform the hotel into the premier luxury destination in the nation's capital by adding contemporary and innovative features important to today's travelers, such as multiple outlets and a multi-functional table with a chaise. We are currently enhancing our public spaces with a redesign of the courtyard and lobby. During this time, we will install temporary walls around the lounge and lobby staircase where an exhibit of "American Icons" will be displayed. We have partnered with the Georgetown gallery, Artist's Proof, to showcase historic and current American celebrities and personalities. We are working to ensure the guest experience is not impacted during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing