We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient and reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our family (my husband, I and our 2 kids) spent a Christmas vacation in this hotel.
We quite enjoyed staying there. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We found a reasonable price on kayak site – around 90$ including all taxes.
There is a big grocery store in the same building that sells prepared food as well.
Metro station is located in 2 minutes walking from hotel, and US capitol is just one metro station from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank inna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,153 - 1,157 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stay with our entire family. Very clean establishment & friendly staff.
Indoor pool & spa is a plus! Free coffee on 2nd floor level lounge area w/ large screen TV.
The Harris Teeter Market a couple doors down is a bonus. Harris Teeter is similar the Whole Foods Market. Hot food bar, sushi, salad bar, groceries, beer & wine etc ...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BillTheDogWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I booked this hotel for a 2 day trip with two 8 year olds. It is close to Union Station, we actually walked from there having come by train from NYC. It is brand spanking new (google map still shows a construction site) and has everything you could possibly need. The rooms are large, they gave us two heavenly queen beds for one adult and two children. Everything feels like you are the first person to use it. The style is modern and classy. There is fast wifi, a nice tv, a fridge and microwave in the room. No minibar, which I appreciated, because the kids would just take stuff. Somebody stated here that it was noisy, I disagree, we had a totally quiet and dark room. It was also an incredible bargain. The crowd was a mixture of families and unassuming normal people.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Imke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel was great. We've stayed here for 4 nights to explore Washington DC. The rooms are spacious and very clean. You have your own microwave and fridge (just a little bit noisy). There is an indoor swimming pool and fitness center, free to use. You can wash and dry your laundry in the machines (a dollar each and a dollar for soap). Free coffee and tea to go in the morning. The staff was correct.

We don't agree with the comments made about the neighbourhood in earlier reviews. The hotel is only 3 to 4 minutes away from the subway station. 3 stops and you are in the city center. It wasn't a unpleasant or unsafe walk for us. On the corner of the street is a supermarket (Harris Teeter), open until midnight, so you never walk alone. We took a SuperShuttle from/to the airport for 40 $ (around 30 euro's)

Washington isn't a bubbly city (like NYC or Frisco) but good for (American) history lovers. We did the standard/common stuff (White House, Capitol, etc.) The Mall is getting renovated, so no water in the pool only construction workers. We loved Georgetown for shopping and the Eastern Market on a Saturday. Try the pizza's and mini hamburgers at Matchbox. Zaytinya is a good restaurant too. Cupcakelovers can't miss the Red Velvet Bakery.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HidWoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days this past weekend and had a pretty great experience. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel was conveniently located near Union Station and several eateries. There is also a grocery store attached which makes it easy to get what you need or left at home.

Room Tip: Check before you arrive to make sure you will get the room you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR2011DallasFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,636 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#110 of 141 in Washington DC
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €76 - €436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing