We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$459
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$208
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One Washington Circle Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Washington Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$220
US$195
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,421)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveller rating
641
501
164
68
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
501
164
68
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharris teeterunion stationgrocery store next doorsame blockmetro stopthe red line metrofridge and microwavefront desk staffbusiness centerhomeless peoplevalet parking isbathroom doorindoor poolhotel restaurantconvenient locationvery nice hotelcapitol hill
Filter
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stay with our entire family. Very clean establishment & friendly staff.
Indoor pool & spa is a plus! Free coffee on 2nd floor level lounge area w/ large screen TV.
The Harris Teeter Market a couple doors down is a bonus. Harris Teeter is similar the Whole Foods Market. Hot food bar, sushi, salad bar, groceries, beer & wine etc ...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BillTheDogWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I booked this hotel for a 2 day trip with two 8 year olds. It is close to Union Station, we actually walked from there having come by train from NYC. It is brand spanking new (google map still shows a construction site) and has everything you could possibly need. The rooms are large, they gave us two heavenly queen beds for one adult and two children. Everything feels like you are the first person to use it. The style is modern and classy. There is fast wifi, a nice tv, a fridge and microwave in the room. No minibar, which I appreciated, because the kids would just take stuff. Somebody stated here that it was noisy, I disagree, we had a totally quiet and dark room. It was also an incredible bargain. The crowd was a mixture of families and unassuming normal people.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Imke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel was great. We've stayed here for 4 nights to explore Washington DC. The rooms are spacious and very clean. You have your own microwave and fridge (just a little bit noisy). There is an indoor swimming pool and fitness center, free to use. You can wash and dry your laundry in the machines (a dollar each and a dollar for soap). Free coffee and tea to go in the morning. The staff was correct.

We don't agree with the comments made about the neighbourhood in earlier reviews. The hotel is only 3 to 4 minutes away from the subway station. 3 stops and you are in the city center. It wasn't a unpleasant or unsafe walk for us. On the corner of the street is a supermarket (Harris Teeter), open until midnight, so you never walk alone. We took a SuperShuttle from/to the airport for 40 $ (around 30 euro's)

Washington isn't a bubbly city (like NYC or Frisco) but good for (American) history lovers. We did the standard/common stuff (White House, Capitol, etc.) The Mall is getting renovated, so no water in the pool only construction workers. We loved Georgetown for shopping and the Eastern Market on a Saturday. Try the pizza's and mini hamburgers at Matchbox. Zaytinya is a good restaurant too. Cupcakelovers can't miss the Red Velvet Bakery.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HidWoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days this past weekend and had a pretty great experience. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel was conveniently located near Union Station and several eateries. There is also a grocery store attached which makes it easy to get what you need or left at home.

Room Tip: Check before you arrive to make sure you will get the room you request.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR2011DallasFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights (2/8-2/13) and we have nothing but positive feedback.
The rooms were beautiful and very clean. Sheets and towels were still soft (after not having been bleached for years). Being so close to a grocery store, pharmacy (within a few hundred feet), and a Metro station (New York/Florida/Galludet University--one small block away) was a huge added bonus. But the BEST part of the hotel was the staff. They were truly customer service focused and that was across the board--from housekeeping to management. I especially have to give credit to Cedric (front desk) for coming through on a strange request. My sister and I are cold sleepers and are used to the hum and circulation that a fan provides. Being winter, the heat was on in the hotel and even after setting the thermostat to 65F, we still were very warm on our first night. We asked Cedric if the hotel had a fan and explained to him why. He said "I got you" and promised he'd get us a fan. We got back to our room later that day and a full size box fan was waiting for us in our room. That fan made a HUGE difference in our trip. If I don't sleep well, I don't feel well, and if I don't feel well, I'm MISERABLE. So thank you, Cedric, for keeping me from being miserable. LOL

Credit also goes out to all the ladies at the front desk who were always friendly and willing to help and to Jonathan (music mogul, valet, door opener, test result picker upper, stamp and laugh provider). You're all awesome. :)

I would and WILL stay here again. And would and WILL recommend highly to anyone visiting the DC area. Keep in mind that the area is up and coming and does not have a HUGE selection of restaurants in the area. However, Five Guys, Au Bon Pain, Potbelly Sandwiches, McDonald's, Wendy's, are all within a block, as well as a few other non-chain eateries. Some of the restaurants run on limited (cater to 9-5ers) hours, but Harris Teeter will be glad to fill your belly until midnight.

GO! And enjoy!

Room Tip: We had what I believe was a north facing room? Room 921. VERY quiet, facing an office building. There is a nightclub across the street from the hotel which apparently can be quite noisy on weekends but we did not hear it (although we could see it).
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank havecurveswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews