We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #80 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel was great. We've stayed here for 4 nights to explore Washington DC. The rooms are spacious and very clean. You have your own microwave and fridge (just a little bit noisy). There is an indoor swimming pool and fitness center, free to use. You can wash and dry your laundry in the machines (a dollar each and a dollar for soap). Free coffee and tea to go in the morning. The staff was correct.

We don't agree with the comments made about the neighbourhood in earlier reviews. The hotel is only 3 to 4 minutes away from the subway station. 3 stops and you are in the city center. It wasn't a unpleasant or unsafe walk for us. On the corner of the street is a supermarket (Harris Teeter), open until midnight, so you never walk alone. We took a SuperShuttle from/to the airport for 40 $ (around 30 euro's)

Washington isn't a bubbly city (like NYC or Frisco) but good for (American) history lovers. We did the standard/common stuff (White House, Capitol, etc.) The Mall is getting renovated, so no water in the pool only construction workers. We loved Georgetown for shopping and the Eastern Market on a Saturday. Try the pizza's and mini hamburgers at Matchbox. Zaytinya is a good restaurant too. Cupcakelovers can't miss the Red Velvet Bakery.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HidWoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,138 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days this past weekend and had a pretty great experience. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel was conveniently located near Union Station and several eateries. There is also a grocery store attached which makes it easy to get what you need or left at home.

Room Tip: Check before you arrive to make sure you will get the room you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR2011DallasFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights (2/8-2/13) and we have nothing but positive feedback.
The rooms were beautiful and very clean. Sheets and towels were still soft (after not having been bleached for years). Being so close to a grocery store, pharmacy (within a few hundred feet), and a Metro station (New York/Florida/Galludet University--one small block away) was a huge added bonus. But the BEST part of the hotel was the staff. They were truly customer service focused and that was across the board--from housekeeping to management. I especially have to give credit to Cedric (front desk) for coming through on a strange request. My sister and I are cold sleepers and are used to the hum and circulation that a fan provides. Being winter, the heat was on in the hotel and even after setting the thermostat to 65F, we still were very warm on our first night. We asked Cedric if the hotel had a fan and explained to him why. He said "I got you" and promised he'd get us a fan. We got back to our room later that day and a full size box fan was waiting for us in our room. That fan made a HUGE difference in our trip. If I don't sleep well, I don't feel well, and if I don't feel well, I'm MISERABLE. So thank you, Cedric, for keeping me from being miserable. LOL

Credit also goes out to all the ladies at the front desk who were always friendly and willing to help and to Jonathan (music mogul, valet, door opener, test result picker upper, stamp and laugh provider). You're all awesome. :)

I would and WILL stay here again. And would and WILL recommend highly to anyone visiting the DC area. Keep in mind that the area is up and coming and does not have a HUGE selection of restaurants in the area. However, Five Guys, Au Bon Pain, Potbelly Sandwiches, McDonald's, Wendy's, are all within a block, as well as a few other non-chain eateries. Some of the restaurants run on limited (cater to 9-5ers) hours, but Harris Teeter will be glad to fill your belly until midnight.

GO! And enjoy!

Room Tip: We had what I believe was a north facing room? Room 921. VERY quiet, facing an office building. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank havecurveswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Beds were huge and so was the room. Breakfast was ok. The computerroom was good too, you could go to internet for free. There was also a place to doo laundry, although it was usually quite crowded and you would have to wait. The gym was nice, but the small pool was too crowded and noisy so we did not even go in. The bus station (where you could go to eg new york) is really close, just a few blocks away. The metro station was quite close too! And there is a big grocery store just next door!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Riikka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Hello! Thank you so much for commenting on your stay with us. Please come back and see us again soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I was already a big Hilton fan and this stay only reinforced my feelings. The hotel is located about 20 minutes from Reagan Airport and one block away from the Red Line Metro. There are several small restaurants next door as well as a coffee shop but they close early so I would recomend that you hop on the Metro for dinner options. We arrived at the hotel at 8 AM so we assumed we were going to just drop our luggage and go but to our surprise they let all three in my party check in. The customer service was exceptional on every front. The front desk personnel answered all of my questions and were very familiar with local attractions and tranportation. The guys working the door were all very nice and knowledgable as well. The cleaning staff had great personalities and were very friendly. I loved the sleep number beds and linens and the rooms had a nice layout. This sounds funny but even the recorded elevator voice was pleasant and inviting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tjlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Good Morning,

I am so happy to hear that you liked so many things about our hotel! I am very proud of our hotel team...they are top notch! I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 142 in Washington DC
356 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#85 of 142 in Washington DC
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: €87 - €396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing