We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night is good enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
District Hotel Washington
Ranked #133 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed there last weekend for one night and that was sufficient. My room had two large beds and was actually quite sizeable, considering it is the least expensive in the neighborhood. I was quite pleased, even though it was obvious that the building itself was worn out. The thin walls allowed noises from the hallway and next rooms to penetrate -- at 5:00 in the morning no less!! The breakfast was nothing fancy, cereal and muffins plus coffee and juice. But it was nice not having to step outside for breakfast. The front desk staff was friendly enough, though not exactly warm! For the price and the location, it was a good deal, but as I said, one night was sufficient!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beebahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for District Hotel Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed at the district hotel for 4 nights. The price was good under a 90 for D.C. The room was small only room for a full sizes bed and a chair. Bathroom was clean but tiles on the floor were coming up, door world not close properly, tiles in the shower were loose. Overall condition of the hotel rundown I would not recommend this hotel unless you just needed a place to sleep and nothing ells. Staff was nice location ok with in walking distance to the METRO and Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdrocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed here 4 nights recently. As many of the reviews have stated, the hotel was nothing special but for those willing to consider less than luxury it was clean and comfortable enough with excellent location and great value compared to alternatives.(I paid under $100 a night through travelocity) My first room did not have a table for computer work but they switched me to another more spacious room upon request. Staff was friendly but not knowledgeable about the city and wake up system didn't work.Note that rooms are walkup.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wander25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I consider myself an easy-to-please person because I like super 8, but this one is even worse than the average super 8. I booked a queen bed room, and the room is so tiny that there is only enough room for one bed and a small dresser in front of the bed. The carpet and the walls were very old. As other people mentioned, the room was noisy. The good thing about this place is that they provide very good breakfast and filtered water. The location is also good. But if you are not on a very very tight budget, I would suggest you stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: choose a more expensive room if you can
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetsourcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Ok so lets put this in context - the hotel cost me $207 + tax for 3 nights through Hostelworld, the cheapest hotel I could find in the centre of DC.

We arrived 15 minutes prior to the official check in time, the staff didn't even bother to check to see if any rooms were available, we had to take a seat until it was the correct time - ok so we were early but I've arrived early at a few hotels all over the world and have never been told to wait until to correct time!

We were allocated a room on the 4th floor, if you've read any of the other reviews on here then you'll know that the hotel's lift is not in operation, we were prepared for this and weren't not too bothered about having to walk our luggage up the stairs, you only have to move your luggage when you arrive and when you leave so does that really matter? Although, nearly every day when we got back to our room our key wouldn't work so one of us had to walk down the stairs and back up again to get that sorted.

The room was small and shabby (I certainly didn't walk bare foot on the carpet!), the bathroom was quite large in comparison and it was newer and clean my only gripe is that the towels were old and some of them had stains on them.

The breakfast was very basic, they had a waffle iron which was a nice touch. There was one very slow toaster for all of the guests to use, how much does it cost to invest in a couple of new toasters! As explained by other reviewers, the breakfast is served in the lobby, we opted to take our breakfast back to our room as it was a bit too communal for our liking.

Overall, apart from their initial unhelpfulness at check in, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location of this hotel was perfect for all of the main sites. The District Hotel is a place to sleep in a city so you don't need to spend much time in your room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#127 of 142 in Washington DC
390 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#128 of 142 in Washington DC
328 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#130 of 142 in Washington DC
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 142 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#118 of 142 in Washington DC
1,830 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#93 of 142 in Washington DC
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5401
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: €71 - €677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing