We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,291)
Filter reviews
2,291 results
Traveller rating
1,469
593
157
40
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,469
593
157
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbistro bisunion stationcapitol hillwine hourboutique hotelthe corner bakeryanimal print robesmini baryoga matwine receptionattached restaurantcomplimentary winecapital buildingsupreme courtnational mallfront desk staffconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 2,291 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2015

The Kimpton Group has done a great job in refurbishing hotels and this is a great example. Why The George gets the nod for our stay in DC is its excellent value and proximity to major landmarks. It’s only a two minute walk from Union station and about five minutes away from Capitol Hill and the National Mall. Our room was of a decent size, comfortable bed and facing a quiet street. There was some confusion regarding the $1 breakfast option when booking direct and credits for Bistro Bis, but the staff was fantastic in resolving the issue. There was a slight hiccup with the WIFI though. The access point was just outside our room but the signal was poor internet access slow.

At the end of our stay, we walked over to Union Station with our bags to carry on our journey!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevindo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiah C, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, Kevindo! We are also happy we were able to resolve the confusion about our $1 breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay--hopefully we'll see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

The George is my choice when staying close to Capital Hill. It has an outstanding restaurant that is a destination of its own and great room accommodations: perfect for business travel. It's easy traveling from Reagan to The George and cabs are abundant in front of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiah C, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Thank you, Lynn, for this sparkling review. We're so happy that you've returned to us, and we hope you'll continue to!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Location near to Capitol and train station which was factor as arriving by rail.
Comfortable but not large room, and perhaps not as luxurious as other Kimptons visited.
Evening wine hour very welocme but lobby area isn't really big enough and not enough places to sit.
Everyone helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark201105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiah C, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

"Comfortable" is what we strive for, Mark! Thank you for writing this solid review. Next time you're around we'd love to show you our Gallery space for more wine hour seating and enjoyment. We'd love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

This hotel is a great example of the special properties that make up the Kimpton hotel group. The property has a contemporary, slightly edgy feel. The room we had was beautiful, functional, and very comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious with a full tub as well as a separate shower. Very nice amenities included the thick terry robes which we really enjoyed. The restaurant was excellent. The staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. Excellent location near Union Station and Capitol Hill.

Room Tip: It would be hard to get a bad room at this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiah C, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Margot, this review is just fantastic! Thank you for writing it. We're especially pleased at your assessment of the rooms, and we agree: they really are all great. We might ask you to come back and try out a few different rooms though, just to make sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

The George is perfectly situated in a convenient and not too congested (for DC) neighborhood. Desk staff are friendly and welcoming, and rooms are quite sizeable (especially for DC - I was quite pleased with the amount of space, including a sizeable desks, lots of outlets, sofa and comfy king bed). I usually prefer a street view but there is enough traffic on E Street NW that my courtyard location was preferable. Was pleased to receive a Kimpton Karma welcome amenity, receive a real live wakeup call, and received whatever else I needed in a matter of minutes rather than hours. Wine hour was a convivial mix including a group of tremendously impressive grad students, some local journalists and traveling executives. I look forward to returning and highly recommend The George to fellow travelers. Oh - and the restaurant is fabulous; breakfast and dinner also recommended!

Room Tip: High floors overlooking the courtyard area will be quieter, but have fewer views.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JeffRodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiah C, Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, Jeffrey! Thank you for taking a moment to write this lovely survey--we're thrilled to know we've done well by you. Will we see you again sometime? We sure hope so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews