We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DC B&B”

Carriage House on Capitol Hill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House on Capitol Hill
Ranked #29 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Our stay at The Carriage House was mid May 2012. The house is beautifully appointed with lots of little sitting nooks where you could read or lounge comfortably. The decorations are from all over the world. The breakfast, although continental, was plenty. There was fruit, rolls, croissants, bagels, muffins, string cheese, cereals, yogurts. One thing we found uncomfortable was that the air conditioning could not be controlled by the individual room. We found the room very warm, perhaps a fan would have helped. If you are looking for a host and hostess to chat you up, you will not find it. They are employed elsewhere and this home is a revenue source for them, not a passion. That being said if you are content to be on your own with a beautiful place to hang your hat for a few days, this would suit you very well.

Room Tip: The yellow room was very nice; it had a patio right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DIANNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Pros: Great location
Self catering B&B
Room we stayed in had a back porch
Private bath with a great walk-in shower
Mimi the cat, and the cute dog

Cons: No lock on room's exterior door(Only able to lock when in the room)
Mattress was too firm for our liking.
A fan would be nice

Room Tip: If you want a cooked breakfast rent the carriage house where you can cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trvl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I have mixed feelings about this place. Depending on what you expect or need for your stay, you might want to give from 1 to 5 stars for this place.

Pro:
- Location. Just three blocks from the Capitol in a nice neighborhood that can be walked any time of day (or night). I also walked to Nationals games and back in 15 minutes. I always felt safe doing so, even at nights. However, the nearest metro station is also three blocks away. With heavy suitcases you may be better off taking a cab.
- Room. My room on the first floor was comfortable, clean, with enough closet space and a big, shared balcony. The bed was a bit soft for my taste.

Con:
- Hospitality. If you want that family feeling with cordial hosts who will give you tips on what to do and where to go, this is not the place to stay. I saw the hosts once, upon arrival, and not for the rest of my five day stay. The male maid from Ethiopia is friendly but very talkative in a pidgin English I couldn't understand most of the time.
- Breakfast. They say 'Continental Breakfast' but some cereal, yogurt and muffins don't do the trick for me.

To summarize, if you want a nice room in a great location: 5 stars. If you want a friendly chat with your hosts over breakfast: 1 star.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cu8sfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Very nice accomodations in a super location. Comfortable room nicely decorated. Priced right. We were made to feel right at home by our hostess. We have stayed here twice and plan to stay again.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms; both were clean, comfortable and artfully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chasn8745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

It was our first time in washington DC and we stayed at the Carriage House for 8 days, It was very quite and very beautifully decorated it had alot of different items we liked the space Coyotes the best. Our room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable and also had a pvt bath which was nice. Theu also provided a little refrigerator in the hall way for the guest to use which was very convenient. we had family to visit us while staying there and spent time socializing in the living room and the owners offered wine and drinks whilke we visited with our family, I would recomend this place to all my friends very friendly and home like.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,654 reviews
Capitol Hill
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#13 of 35 in Washington DC
13 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#8 of 35 in Washington DC
679 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,322 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House on Capitol Hill

Address: 612 3rd St SE, at South Carolina Avenue Southeast, Garfield Park, Washington DC, DC 20003-1934
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Smithsonian Museums, Library of Congress, U.S. Capitol, or the White House. We are 4 blocks from the Capitol South Metro station and steps from the Congressional offices. This comfortable private home B&B offers 4 rooms, each with queen bed and private bath, or a 2 bedroom, private entrance suite with living room and 1.5 baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing