We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This makes kayaking fun”
Review of Loxahatchee River

Loxahatchee River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$495.00*
and up
Jupiter Inshore Fishing Charter
Ranked #2,559 of 5,655 things to do in Florida
Attraction details
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The river itself it great. Bald Cypress line the banks and the 2 dams add some "white water " feel ( Florida style). When the current flows it is fun. On weekends the "portage around the dams is crowded with party people enjoying the wildlife, making moving kayak across dam tough. But they were all friendly. Watch launching off the portage dock, if your bow gets under the water, then your in for a roll into the water. Refreshing on a hot day bringing smiles to all (I was the entertainment). About a 3 .5 hr round trip to the Interstate bridge, about 4 miles RT.
If you like to get around Florida to kayak, or your just visiting the area.....It is worth the trip and time.....just don't let the rental people give you the wrong start because they appear to be grumpy at Canoe Outfitters ( it was not just a bad day, this was confirmed by a paddler who has been going there for years). Beautiful day, beautiful river, not much wildlife but it was a holiday so lots of people on the river enjoying Old Florida

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank RogerPsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Riverbend Park: tt's beautiful, non-Disney Florida at it's best. All kinds of wildlife--alligators, turtles, birds--while paddling on a very lovely fresh water river. The forest is astounding. Definitely a must-see to get away from the madding crowds in Orlando!

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank ShelleyV31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

After researching a new place to go kayaking, Loxahatchee River looked like an interesting place to try. We didn't know what to expect but it turned into an amazing adventure. Free parking and free kayaks/canoe launch is available. I highly recommend water, food, and sunscreen as this is a day adventure. We saw turtles of all sizes, peacocks, water birds, and multiple alligators!! Make sure you know how far you would like to kayak/canoe before starting, because paddling back up river is a bit challenging.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Chelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a must do trip. Up the river to a a little boys fantasy hide a way. Alligators, birds and turtles guaranteed. This is Florida at its best and most natural. Escape the strip malls and beach for a real well guided memorable adventure. No swimming. Birds, trees and flowers galore. Do it.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank Searay177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is the Old Florida, we have kayaked from River Bend to Jonathon Dickenson twice and both trips have been different. It is a difficult trip but well worth it. On our first trip we saw a lot of wildlife and alligators the second time we saw only one gator and several manatees.
Make sure that you check the tide chart when you get into Jonathon Dickenson if it is an inoming tide the last 2 hours can be hard as you have to fight against the incoming tide.
We did encounter several downed trees that we had to manage to get over be careful as this is prime alligator habitat.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank SuzanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loxahatchee River also viewed

 

Been to Loxahatchee River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing