We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,455)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveller rating
994
375
57
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
994
375
57
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hoteloverlooking the squarefree wifijunior suitebuffet breakfastrooms are largean oasiswelcome drinkpineapplecuban hotelsfirst floortown squaretwo nightssmall hotelcobbled streetscolonial styledoorman
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Four of us recently stayed at the Iberostar en-route from Havana and found the hotel to be stylish whilst maintaining its character. If we had one negative it would be that the hotel bar seemed to lack atmosphere but this will have suited some enjoying the quietness; there were however plenty of traditional oasis to visit within walking distance!
The main purpose of this review though is to extol the excellent service we received from the General Manager and his staff as we were stranded in the town for two extra days as Storm Alberto passed over, precluding us getting out of the town and missing our planned flight to London. They were extremely helpful in accommodating us the extra nights in the same rooms and keeping us fully updated as to when the roads were open, whereupon the Manager personally accompanied me to the local Travel Agency to arrange alternative flights home - we are all very grateful!!
As possibly the best hotel in the town, we would highly recommend it - and the in house umbrellas were a huge bonus (but that was just bad luck on our part!!).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DEANO0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, Guest Relations Manager at Iberostar Grand Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Guests:

What a good luck to have you extra nights despite of the storm. We could only try to make you feel as comfortable as possible and update you at all times. Thanks for your words of appraisal for our staff and Management, we are extremely proud to know that all our efforts made your wait less stressful. We look forward to be able to offer you our hospitality again at IBEROSTAR.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

I only went to the hotel for lunch so you may wish to see other reviews for the rooms. The restaurant has a good variety of cigars, wines, spirits and food. Staff is helpful and super cordial. It is a bit in the pricy side but definitely worth it. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained. In this hotel you can buy multiple options for tours specially for those to visit Partagas, the House of all the Cuban cigars. The tour is about 10 dollars per person, totally worth it!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Salomoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, Guest Relations Manager at Iberostar Grand Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear client:

We would like to thank you for devoting some of your time to write about your experience while visiting our hotel restaurant. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the food and services provided by our staff. We hope that you can visit us and can also enjoy our rooms the next time.

Regards,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We didnt actually stay at the hotel we were staying at a house down the road. However we had lunch there twice and an evening meal. The tapa's served at lunch were superb. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We used their banking facilities and they also organised a taxi for us the morning we were leaving. So although we didnt actually stay there we used the facilities as though we were staying there. I would definately book to stay there if I went back to Trinadad.
The enviroment was splendid and looked as though it had been recently decorated.
At dinner the hotel manager came and spoke to all the customers.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, Guest Relations Manager at Iberostar Grand Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear clients:

We appreciate the time you have devoted to share your comments at this web site about your experience while visiting our restaurant and snack bar. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our gastronomy and that our staff took really good care of you. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in our hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Trinidad is a fascinating town, and the Iberostar is a five star experience. The hotel is right by the square and a short walk into the main part of the old town. The hotel is well furnished and rooms are large and comfortable. We had no complaints about any part of our stay here and recommend the hotel unreservedly. The restaurant is decent and the breakfast was very enjoyable - a wide buffet spread. The hotel has wi-fi in the bar area although like most places you will need to buy time. (One tip - the cards bought here will probably not work elsewhere and certainly not at other hotels. Each hotel seems to like to sell it's own cards for access to its wif-fi). The hotel also has a cigar smoking room for those who want to enjoy one of Cuba's specialities.
Two other tips - for Cuba generally rather than this hotel - take mozzie bite cream. The little beggars are persistent and not necessarily deterred by repellents unless you keep topping them up. And - keep some money in reserve just in case. We knew that Cuba is still largely a cash culture with credit cards only being accepted in some restaurants and hotels. At a five star hotel we felt safe on this front and indeed, the Iberostar does accept cards. Unfortunately on the day we checked out, the link for card payments was not working and they could only accept cash. We had heard varied reports on the reliability of the local ATMs so it was good we had kept some cash back to pay for a week of putting the odd rum etc onto the room charge. All in all, this is a lovely hotel and Trinidad is certainly worth a few days of your time in Cuba.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ARM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, Guest Relations Manager at Iberostar Grand Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear Guests:

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad. We are pleased to read that after spending some days with us you consider to have lived a five stars experience. As you have shared in your comments, our hotel provides de guests with Wifi cards, the ones we have do work in every place in Cuba where there is Wifi. We would like to apologize for the inconvenient with the payment through the credit card. Unfortunately it takes some time for the connection to be established and process the payments but this is definitely a permanent option for all our guests, as we understand that it is commonly used for those who visit us. Again we would like to thank you for your kindness and hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at IBEROSTAR.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We stayed for two nights and were extremely impressed by the hotel and quality of service. To see the hotel manager at breakfast and dinner is rare in this day and age. He had a friendly word for both guests and staff (more hotels should try this approach - it was wonderful).

Lovely notes left by chamber maids, in English, they obviously checked the nationality of the guest.

Food was excellent as was the service - what more can one ask for!

Room Tip: Just enjoy the ambiance
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jane642017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, Guest Relations Manager at Iberostar Grand Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear guests:

We feel honored to read your comments about your stay with us and we would like to thank you on behalf of all the hotel staff for sharing it at this web site. Every day we try and put all of our efforts to ensure our guests feel to be taken good care of and it is really comforting to know that we fulfilled your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again at our IBEROSTAR.

Yours truthfully,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews