We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
13
49
111
55
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
49
111
55
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an indoor swimming pool an older hotel spent one night here shower curtain main building third floor buffet style large room caburni
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as part of an overnight excursion to Cienfuegos/Trinidad/Santa María. The room was large and clean. It was quite warm when we arrived at around 5 but switching the air con on it was fine for the evening. There was a fridge that just needed plugging in. There is a bar and restaurant. The food was buffet style and was ok. (There is also a disco and an indoor swimming pool - we didn't go into either so can't comment on how good they were). There isn't anything else to do as it is in the middle of the national park. Fine for an overnight stay.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank 8KimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

An older hotel but with all the amenities of a newer one. Buffet style meals had a tremendous assortment to choose from. Cook to order breakfasts, dessert bar, lots of fresh fruit and veggies, plus meat and fish dishes. Rooms had a/c, and private baths. The countryside surrounding it is what yo go for!!!! The Topes de Collantes is am amazing park. And remember, you're in Cuba and they still have a bit of remodeling to do to catch up with other places. Relax and enjoy the moment.

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank JudyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The room initially was a bit grim, but after opening the curtains it felt better. The bathroom was fine but the air-conditioning unit was very old and seeing that it wasn't so hot up in the mountains I decided not to risk putting it on. The outside blocks could do with painting. It most definitely felt I was in a state communist hotel. I didn't go to the pool but it is covered with loud music pumping so i didn't want to ruin the peace.The food was average, really didn't fancy the bacon in the morning, it looked disgusting but the biscuits more than made up for it.Avoid the coffee too. A beautiful area to visit but if a better hotel is available it may be with staying elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vergine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Topes de Collante is a remote resort set amid spectacular mountain scenery. Do not expect a top class hotel but expect a wonderful holiday experience. We spent eight nights there is March as part of a trip around Cuba searching for butterflies and other fabulous wildlife. Full details of our travels see butterfliesofcuba. our travel and accomodation was expertly arranged by a Cuban firm with a UK base San Cristobal scuk.

We were travelling with a Cuban friend and our stay at the hotel was perfect. We had spacious rooms in one of the terraces at ground floor level in the grounds. Very clean, comfortable and totally free of problems.These are well illustrated in the photos on this web site.

Coffee was top class - the best we had ever had in Cuba. Good choice of food at breakfast and dinner. Most days we had a packed lunch, but we were able to have several lunches at the very nice restaurant at the Villas Caburni, also part of the hotel.

Staff very friendly and helpful and they were interested that we had chosen to stay for 8 nights as most guests only stay a couple of nights as part of a tour around Cuba. On our last night we were invited to a specially reserved table decorated with a superb fruit barbeque.

We enjoyed walking around Topes and also taking longer trips in jeeps to the mountains. Our driver Eric and guides Alex and Yassil were excellent. The trips were arranged with Rafael at the tourist office who helped us greatly with various aspects of our stay. Fabulous area for scenery and wildlife

A little stray dog was exceedingly friendly - if you visit Los Helechos look out for Sasha. She is a pretty little sandy terrier with four white paws.

We will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: we love the ground floor rooms in the grounds
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

There are not many options to stay in the Topes. I saw three hotels, Los Helechos, Los Pinos, and Kurhotel (maybe Villa Kaburni has rooms?), all former military sanatoria (military are still present in Kurhotel). Los Helechos was not bad. A typical no-nonsense Cuba state hotel (do not expect luxury). Clean, safe, sometimes has wi-fi. Good bar, good helpful staff.
No luxury, but there are some frills: it has a (roofed) pool (piscine), and bowling room (yes!) and a pool (billiards). The drawback - bowling and pool are closed at 10. There is absolutely nothing to do after 10. Well, considering that only die-hard mountain trekkers come here (and die-hard Cuban military), they only have to sleep tight before another trek in the early morning.
Food was simple, but good. No multigenerational noisy families; although, some noisy youngsters were present - but no dancing after 10 for them.
The bar stocks on rare rum Vigia, do not miss it. And their coffee was great.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Serguei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews