We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Cuba”
Review of Paladar Sol Y Son

Paladar Sol Y Son
Ranked #6 of 124 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In our palate can taste excellent dishes, but be patient, our cuisine is organic (charcoal), all meals are prepared at the time you order them, even view of the customer. For a pleasant stay we suggest options bar while listening to live music beautiful traditional trinitarian.
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Trinidad was our final stop in Cuba after two weeks of travelling and we decided to try Sol y Son. It was hands-down the best meal we had during our trip - the food is fresh, the portions are generous, the staff is so friendly and it's excellent value for money! The first time I tried their dish of the day, which was red snapper cooked in a lemon sauce. We ended up going back to Sol y Son the following night by popular vote (my family and I never usually go to the same place twice in a row) and I tried the chicken in honey mustard and soy sauce - also delicious! Would definitely recommend this place and I would be a frequent visitor if I lived in Trinidad!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chi_lg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilia R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Sol Y Son, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hello:
Many thanks for visiting us in more than one occasion, our food is fresh and healthy, the dishes they chose are very popular at our table, as they are among the most chosen !!!
Thank you for your time and kind regards!


Management Sol y Son

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

This place is part museum, part restaurant, part private home. We walked in during a rain storm, were seated in a covered area, overlooking a courtyard with fountains and plantings. The menu we were offered ran the gamut from the simplest Cuban plates to elegant foods, including lobster, shrimps, many with an Indian twist. The service was extremely attentive. All in all a very satisfying experience. Please go!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilia R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Sol Y Son, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello Meryl.

The circumstances are like this, it had to be raining for you to find our restaurant, without proposing it and ... surprised!
It is wonderful to know that our offerings, from the simplest to the most elegant, as you call them, have been very pleasing to your palate.
Thank you Meryl for offering us the honor of sitting at our table !!!


Management Sol and Son

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

The food here is delicious! The chicken in chocolat-chili is perfect! The lamcurry is also really good! It is so nice to have lunch or diner here. Outsider on the beautiful patio or inside the restaurant! We will come back here!

Thank Marita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilia R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Sol Y Son, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello Marita

Thank you for choosing us !!!
It is great to know that our food and services have been rated as excellent by you.
We wait for you again !!!


Management Sol and Son

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

A delicious dinner and a beautiful setting. I had the pollo gorakhpur which was fantastic. Also, great drinks and service.

Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We visited after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The food is Indian Cuban fusion and it was the best we had during our 2 week trip around Havana, Varadero, Trinidad, Cienfuegos and Viñales. Very tasteful (not the usual spice lacking blend flavour). Absolutely loved the gazpacho, the samosas and the crême brûlée We also loved the service by the super nice waiter who's an ex ballet dancer. We danced to the band between meals and were tempted to check into the restaurant's bedroom and test the bed after a great night but opted for our own bedroom around the corner instead

One absolute must visit this restaurant when in Trinidad

Thank michaelharmelink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilia R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Sol Y Son, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello.
Thank you for visiting us to taste our plates and to publish photos of our restaurant.
Our Indian food is elaborated with native spices of that nation, we are very careful to preserve the flavors (unique) of each region, that who really knows about this wonderful cuisine knows that they are different !!!
Sol Son has been a pioneer in bringing to your kitchen the flavors, and delights of Indian cuisine !!!
Thank you for choosing us !!!


Management Sol y Son

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paladar Sol Y Son also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Paladar Sol Y Son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing