We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”
Review of Paladar Sol Y Son

Paladar Sol Y Son
Ranked #6 of 122 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In our palate can taste excellent dishes, but be patient, our cuisine is organic (charcoal), all meals are prepared at the time you order them, even view of the customer. For a pleasant stay we suggest options bar while listening to live music beautiful traditional trinitarian.
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We visited after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The food is Indian Cuban fusion and it was the best we had during our 2 week trip around Havana, Varadero, Trinidad, Cienfuegos and Viñales. Very tasteful (not the usual spice lacking blend flavour). Absolutely loved the gazpacho, the samosas and the crême brûlée We also loved the service by the super nice waiter who's an ex ballet dancer. We danced to the band between meals and were tempted to check into the restaurant's bedroom and test the bed after a great night but opted for our own bedroom around the corner instead

One absolute must visit this restaurant when in Trinidad

Thank michaelharmelink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilia R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Sol Y Son, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello.
Thank you for visiting us to taste our plates and to publish photos of our restaurant.
Our Indian food is elaborated with native spices of that nation, we are very careful to preserve the flavors (unique) of each region, that who really knows about this wonderful cuisine knows that they are different !!!
Sol Son has been a pioneer in bringing to your kitchen the flavors, and delights of Indian cuisine !!!
Thank you for choosing us !!!


Management Sol y Son

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Charming ambience, it's like going back in time. Great service with charming staff. The food is delicious, the traditional representation of the exquisite mix of the cuban cuisine. If you go to Trinidad you must visit "Sol y Son" and try its "Ropa Vieja", it's heavenly. You can also dance around, with the rhythm of a very nice Cuban band. In my opinion "Sol y Son" is simple and unforgettable place. If you take my advice and go there, for sure you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rociremartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilia R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Sol Y Son, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello.
Thank you for sharing with us and taste one of our main Cuban dishes, made with natural spices and with love that is the essential ingredient for every occasion.
We appreciate your time and your lovely opinion.


Management Sol y Son

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Excellent place, with an extraordinary decoration. The attention to the public is very good. All workers are very attentive and pleasant people. Food is delicious. Without a doubt, this is a place I recommend. For my part, whenever I visit Trinidad, I will go there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eduardocorzo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilia R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Sol Y Son, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello Mr.
Thank you for visiting our Restaurant, and giving us such nice opinion on this site.


Management Sol y Son

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We enjoyed 2 evening meals at Sol y Son earlier this year. The restaurant has a charming internal courtyard providing the perfect setting for a relaxed, romantic meal. Both food and and service were very good and we also enjoyed the traditional Cuban music on offer from a local band and singers. The menu was extensive and there were some pretty colourful cocktails being produced at the bar! This place is well worth visiting and provides a welcome haven from the busy streets of Trinidad.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ddajcl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilia R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paladar Sol Y Son, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your nice opinion, very valuable for us.
It is a pleasure to offer the best services to you.
Thank you for choosing us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Decent fusion food. Wait staff was good. There was live flute and I think violin music if I remember correctly.

It was quiet and nice. Nothing too special a forgettable place all together.

Thank caitlyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paladar Sol Y Son also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Paladar Sol Y Son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing