We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flys, Mosquitos, bed bugs and No See Um oh My!”
Review of Hotel Ancon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ancon
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Reviewed 24 July 2017

First, bring your bug spray for outside and in your room. I have been to this hotel a few times and I can see the improvement by management. The pool is being worked on along with the surrounding gardens. Management needs to designate a crew just for trash pick up around the hotel. It will be evident if they are not doing their job. Security is a joke. They allow outside guests the prime shade chairs on the beach because they are being "paid off". Non-hotel visitors are drinking and eating the snack bar food, because Beach staff are getting it and selling it. A female friend was offered "alone time" by working staff. Most of the beach staff are hustling for favors, money or your personal property or clothing.
The dive shop needs better BC and reg equipment! The dives are great and interesting areas. But, staff shouldn't be indulging in alcohol between dives.
The rooms are okay with clean bed sheets but I recommend wearing slippers.
The hotel should assign someone to grow mint on the property, maybe in pots on the deck. The restaurant has a ton of flies! An older shorter cook at the grill likes to hustle for your jewrely or sunglasses. Don't incourage his behavior by giving up your belongings. Internet rarely works. When something doesnt go right just remember "it's Cuba". Your experience may be better if you start with tipping everyone, you might get a smile. Beach location is good, service depends if you tip, and value is good if you drink.

Room Tip: Away from the bar and entertainment noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Trails4GMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente:
muchas gracias por su opinión. Analizaremos las cuestiones que usted menciona para mejorar la calidad de nuestro servicio. Una vez más gracias y si desea comunicarse directamente con nosotros lo puede hacer a través de nuestras direcciones electrónicas: relaciones@brisastdad.tdad.tur.cu (Relaciones Públicas) o asubdirector@brisastdad.tdad.tur.cu (Director General).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

The main thing about this hotel are the people, most of them are very attentive and friendly, I'm coming back next year
The pool is still closed, food and drink good, free parking, this hotel is close to trinidad and you can know all the museums and attractions

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Canoso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente:
muchas gracias por su opinión. Nos complace que se haya sentido a gusto acá con nosotros y que haya repetido su visita. Esperamos volverlo a ver nuevamente pues ya usted forma parte de nuestra gran familia. Una vez más gracias y si desea comunicarse directamente con nosotros lo puede hacer a través de las siguientes direcciones electrónicas: relaciones@brisastdad.tdad.tur.cu (Relaciones Públicas) o asubdirector@brisastdad.tdad.tur.cu (Director General).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

I stayed the 3 night low two nights in all inclusive. This place is the worst possible place to hope to relax by the sea. The reception is deplorable, the staff unfriendly, no service, no pool or a under construction theater impression.
Except my room which was located in the new wing of the hotel was comfortable even though the fridge was empty is unplugged!


Finally I think that all that is supposed to be made available to all inclusive customers is actually resold to black market to other type of tourist.
Even when I asked for a mojito, I was told no lemon! a shame !
I can say that i shouted, and that I went to see the lobby to complain, without much result
A real strip of stupid, they didn't have understand anything . Don't go ! There is another hôtel next those one, seems to be better but not tested !

Room Tip: best idea is to look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank kali_371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Estimado cliente:
muchas gracias por su opinión. Lamentamos mucho que a usted no le haya agradado nuestro hotel. Analizaremos con los departamento implicado los comentarios que usted refiere. Una vez más muchas gracias. Si desea comunicarse directamente con nosotros para agregar alguna información más lo puede hacer a través de : relaciones@brisastdad.tdad.tur.cu (Relaciones Públicas) o asubdirector@brisastdad.tdad.tur.cu (Director General).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Cuban resorts have a reputation for being not up to the standard of resorts in other parts of the world, and that holds true with Hotel Club Ancon. The most frustrating part is that the hotel could easily be much better with a few changes.

The positives:
1. If you're looking to just hang out on the beach, the location is terrific, right on a beautiful beach with calm waters.
2. The lobby is quite pretty.
3. The rooms, while by no means luxurious, are clean.

The negatives:
1. The staff need serious customer service training. The front desk staff was very transactional and not at all welcoming, odd given that the Cuban people are known for being friendly and welcoming. For example, when I arrived I had no Cuban currency, but was told they couldn't convert money until the next morning at 8:30 (so I had to pay my driver in Canadian $). The next morning, I was told I still couldn't do it, and when I asked when, they said, "Later." I ended up making my way into town and exchanged currency at another hotel, because the banks were closed. That may not sound like a big deal, but the overall demeanor never made me feel like they cared about me as a guest.
2. The beach/pool bar - the food was terrible (don't order the pizza a.k.a. how do you mess up pizza?) and none of the people working here give the impression they want to be. Also, they serve drinks in tiny plastic cups that makes it impossible to lounge on the beach without having to return for more.
3. The buffet food - not terrible, but not great (although from what I hear, this is par for the course for most Cuban resorts).

The hotel is fine, but better customer service would go a long way to make this a premium resort.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the 'tropical' rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017
Google Translation

estimado cliente, muchas gracias por su opinión. La tendremos muy presente para mejorar la calidad de nuestro servicio. Trabajaremos en los aspectos negativos que usted nos señala para erradicarlos o minimizarlos según nuestras posibilidades. Realmente le agradecemos su crítica que ha sido muy constructiva. Si desea aportar lago más para mejorar nuestros servicios y nuestra imagen lo puede hacer a través de los siguientes e mail: asubdirector@brisastdad.tdad.tur.cu (Director General) o relaciones@brisastdad.tdad.tur.cu (Relaciones Públicas).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Hands down, one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. We visited this hotel for 2 nights as park of Thomas Cook's classic Cuba tour. We checked in as all inclusive. Hotel itself from the front looks lovely, beach is beautiful - although very shelly (wear flip flops or else you will cut your feet to bits). However, the pool was being renovated so there was a building site outside the lobby. Bar was ok, very limited choice. The food was awful - if you like bones in everything, go to this hotel. We had raw fish, snotty eggs & one of the signs said beef - when I bit into it, it was beef liver. I have never heaved so much in my life. The second night, we couldn't face the food in the main restaurant, so we opted for the Italian downstairs. Food in here was better than the upstairs restaurant. Quick service, cant really complain - apart from it being freezing down there. Outside seating area is nice, apart from the building site. Rooms are clean, air-con sounds like its going to blow up, maids in daily & no balcony to our room. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Staceysharon379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
2.7 km away
Club Amigo Costasur
Club Amigo Costasur
#1 of 1 in Playa Ancon
592 reviews
7.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.6 km away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.5 km away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 7 in Cienfuegos
662 reviews
74.3 km away
Hotel Los Caneyes
Hotel Los Caneyes
#2 of 7 in Santa Clara
486 reviews
204.2 km away
Islazul Mar del Sur Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancon

Address: Carretera Maria Aguilar | Playa Ancón, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range: €68 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ancon 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Ancon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancon Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing