We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
142
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each evening glass of wine guest lounge new zealand other guests amazing hosts little touches port wine lovely owners great wineries fresh produce amazing views pre dinner rooms are large olive oil amazing weekend overlooking the bay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We absolutely loved the views from here! The breakfast and canapés were quite delicious! It is far from everything, which is nice if you just want to enjoy the views and peacefulness. However, we suggest you getting a car if you want to visit places because the taxi rides add up quickly! (Way more than a rental) The lodge claims they’ll drive you to places, but in reality, they charge you more than the taxis. You only find this out at the end of your stay, which sadly left a bitter taste.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantleachnz, Owner at Te Whau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Daniel and Danielle,
Thank you for review and appreciating the panoramic views and breakfasts that we serve.
With regards to our pick and drop off service, as Waiheke is a large island and we do charge for that service as detailed on our website and welcome letter. We do offer guests a new European vehicle and ensure that our rates are lower than some of the local taxis….as part of our 5 star service.
We hope that you are enjoying the next stage of your Honeymoon and we wish you all the very best for your future together.
Regards Marg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

I can't speak highly enough about Te Whau lodge. The architecture and design of the lodge is beautiful, as is the view. There are a lot of details which are paid a lot of attention to, it was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Well, I must say I am loving this place right now. The rooms all have an amazing view, so dont worry about what room you may get, as they all look out tho that amazing ocean you see in the pics.

If you need anything random like food or a massage in your room, just sms the managers of the estate and they shall delight you will a yes yes yes reply.

For those who are creative, this is the place to be for sure. The view is so lovely to photograph or dray from the desk window or the balcony. - Plus the island do a fantastic art tour that is a must and or just drive around and visit the ones you like.

For those who are foodies and love wine! Well we are talking my life, and I can tell you that a week on the island will not be enough, and you will be wanting to come back.

The lodge does a very nice thing in the evening, they host a charming drinks and canapes from 6-7 and that is a delight because you can meet other people in a casual setting, or just come and go quickly as you like.

In your fridge free there is, milk, cheese and crackers along with water and chocolates. - They are small and refilled daily. Also coffee and tea selections. There is wine in the fridge (charged) but sometimes you want a glass of wine and it is late, and well.... it is there for you.

The bathroom, lovely, modern and heated.The bed, watch out because you may sleep in here.. It's a good bed and the TV has you can put ur Netfliz in so you may end up in bed even longer...

We have recommended a few friends to stay here because we know they like what we like and will be delighted.

We will come back because there are places i still need to go to and time i need to relax and The Lodge is just the place to do that.

If you dont have a car, who cares you can book a driver/taxi, everything is 15-20 min away anyway.

You should come here even if it is cold. I can tell you I hate the cold, but this place is made for the cold, so it is in fact warm! The coldest you will be is walking 2 meters to your car or to the lobby lounge.

If you are thinking about budget, I can say book The Lodge and experience what his is like and see for your self that spending more than your usual budget is worth it. You may get hooked tho and your bar will get higher.. like mine did years ago.

Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: every room has a view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BSengos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We gave up on going out of town for the long weekend and stumbled across Te Whau while looking for local to-dos in Auckland. Ended up staying here for the weekend while we did the usual loop around the wineries. Easy access from the wharf, attentive hosts and luxurious amenities. Would recommend to those looking for a quick getaway and highly recommend this to anyone after a more distinguished experience.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IBLC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Te Whau Lodge and enjoyed our stay there. The Lodge is nicely decorated and there is a lounge which the guests could use and relax. The room is spacious and cosy. The view is amazing especially during sunset, and there is a balcony at each room and outside the lounge that the guests could enjoy the beautiful view.

The hosts Rob and Marg are friendly and they look after the guests really well. It is winter time in New Zealand and the weather gets cold at night. Marg helped put on the heater when we were out so that it would be warm and cosy when we come back from dinner. She would also check with us on our plans for the day and make good suggestions when we don’t have one.

Breakfast is included and the menu is different every day. The breakfast is healthy and mouthwatering - homemade gluten-free granola with yoghurt, baked cloud egg and creamed mushroom toast, pastries, smoothie made with mixed fruits and coconut water, etc, which makes a great start of the day.

Rob and Marg also prepare Waiheke wines and canapés for guest to enjoy each evening, unfortunately we had plans and weren’t able to join for the two evenings. However, we were still able to enjoy the wines as they also prepare wines and chocolate treats for guests before they go to bed.

The experience was great, and it is highly recommended to stay at Te Whau Lodge if you are planning to stay on the Waiheke Island.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DaisyL795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews