We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picton Beachcomber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I was initially staying at a very seedy B&B, paying top price and hating it. Across the road the Beachcomber had a sign stating "we arent as expensive as we look"! So I enquired, and booked, and never looked back. What a surprise!

A huge studio containing king bed and a single discreetly tucked away at the side, a huge ranchslider with patio lock and curtains that actually blocked out the light. A huge balcony overlooking Picton beach and harbour and SKY TV which had at least 10 channels, a wonderful array of teas, coffees etc., and a 'silent' bar fridge loaded with goodies if you wanted them. The bathroom was excellent, complete with a rubber standing mat and spotless. Outside this room was a large modern sink unit for washing your cups etc or doing your teeth etc. The water was hot and good pressure and literally everything was perfect. There were ample supplies of shampoo and conditioner and handwash available in the form of wall mounted pumps. How handy....

The lighting was also superb - discreet or bright - you choose, plus it even had AC! how lucky could I be!!! There were lounge chairs and a large coffee table and words cannot fully tell you how wonderful staying there was compared to where I had been.

The swimming pool was well fenced and spotlessly clean.

Reception was professional, the ladies were actually interested in me and gave me excellent service. I cannot speak highly enough of their service. All this for the same prices as my miserable B&B!! I nearly didnt do this review as I wanted to keep it all to myself. Thank you Beachcomber.

Room Tip: The garden area suites are best with kids. As I was alone I revelled in my solitude on the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    111
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
132
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waikato
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Good place to stay with great views of the harbour. Pleasant staff. Didn't try the restaurant. Picton is a great visit with very good coffee and food in the local restaurants and cafes. Can make your own tea and coffee but no plates for anything else.

Room Tip: No air conditioner but not required. Can always get a good breeze through the rooms. Rooms have heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farminventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
712 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 636 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Our ferry arrived at 930pm and we walked with luggage from the terminal to the hotel in about 12 mins with no problem, just a bit bumpy until you hit the main road.
Reception had closed by that time and we found our room key in an envelope (with instructions) sticky taped to the front door. Rather trusting of them so we thought right then that Picton would be a friendly town.
On our second stay we had to catch the 0800 am ferry and reception doesn't open until that time, so just a little warning to settle your bill the night he before.

There is a lift to the 2nd floor located outside the main office so we were able to get the luggage up without using the stairs.
As we had two separate stays here, each room (next door to each other) on the same floor had the same amenities, identical layout, decor, views and we felt like we had never left.

There are many rooms to choose from with ours being more expensive but had modern and updated décor.The other room type we saw on the lower level looked a little outdated but would be just as comfortable.

We had to book the rooms via contacting them in an email and filling out a reservation form (which is a little out of touch these days).
Phoning is another option but we still managed to get the room we wanted online via the hotel’s booking form.

Our room was classified as a King bedroom (with a single) and it was indeed a large bed,with a sofa,coffee table,bedside tables, a good sized TV, tea/coffee making area, cupboard and a vanity area located outside the bathroom.
It was made of stainless steel with light wood throughout and rather a heavy colour scheme overall.At night it seemed particularly dark even with most of the lights on.Glass sliding doors lead out to an open balcony with views down to the harbour across a low carpark.

The only problem we found was in the bathroom with the low water pressure from the shower, the less than optimum room to move around in and the big crack in the venetian blind near the kitchen area that gave a view into the bathroom. This should really have been cut to fit the inside of this window.

Overall,the view from the rooms to the harbour and from the back door to the yacht mooring area is very nice.The cleanliness of the rooms was fantastic with super amenities to choose from with little wastage.
Did not try the restaurant, as they were not open during our stays for dinner.

It doesn't look too much from the outside but it belies what it is really like in the rooms.Their slogan out the front is "We only Look Expensive!"

The included photos are taken from each stay(different rooms) and although they are identical in layout, one or two maybe reversed.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: If you can spare some extra dollars, stay in the updated rooms and you won't regret the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
856 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This inn was delightful and located for walking about town. We were able to shop for groceries, find a reataurant and enjoy the delightful residents we met along the street. Comfortable room, and views from all windows. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. She gave us tips and directions for the places we wanted to see. She also was helpful with the loan of a plug for my computer.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the harbor from both sliding windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Picton is one of the greatest places - no one seems to know about it. The stores are great finds, the Harbour is great and the hotels are great. We stayed at the Beachcomber Inn and the rooms were fantastic. We had a meal in the Restaurant "Whalers" and that was great as well. The only sad part was that we could not stay longer. Would highly recommend the Beachcomber as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
3.5 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
10.4 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 km away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#3 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.4 km away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picton Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Beachcomber Inn

Property: Picton Beachcomber Inn
Address: 27 Waikawa Road, Picton 7372, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#6 Family Hotel in Picton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Picton Beachcomber Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Picton Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picton Beachcomber Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing