We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Really lovely place to stay - comfy bed, hot showers, beautiful garden, well-stocked kitchen and very close to Picton town centre, and the ferry port. It was just a shame we couldn't stay longer! Highly recommended. $5 breakfast is a must - fresh bread, homemade feijoa jam and freshly brewed coffee was a perfect start to the day.
Thank you Bruce and team!

Room Tip: Eco cabin was warm and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beth32498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This place is a perfect place to stay while in Picton. Bruce gave us a very warm welcome and he recommended us Lochmara. What a great recommendation. The hostel is very clean, the kitchen is very well equipped and you have a wide range of herbs available. The only thing we didn't liked is that the double rooms are right next to the kitchen and the communal area. Hence in the evening it was quite noisy and in the morning we woke up far too early due too breakfast preparation noises. Still a great place to stay with a big garden and fresh fruits and herbs.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Super comfy, non-bunk bed, laid-back people, amazing garden and spices. Was initially planning to stay shorter but Bruce made me feel so welcome that I stayed for Christmas. Best choice I could possibly have made and I could've stayed even longer.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JudithTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

This was our very first back packer stay, we throughly enjoyed ourselves. Bruce made us feel very welcome right from the start.we had a private room and it was very comfortable. Jugglers is walking distance to the town. This was a great experience for us. We would highly recommend Jugglers to all.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Marianneg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I absolutely loved Jugglers Rest. I read an article about it online and actually flew to New Zealand specifically to check it out, as I have a passion for circus arts. I was not at all disappointed, in fact it was better than I expected. Amazing veggie garden, excellent and well-equipped kitchen, super clean, very comfortable beds, strong wifi. Plenty of practice flow props to play with, as well as sitting areas inside and outside to chill in. Short walk into town, plus a bunch of trails nearby. Bruce and Niki were super lovely and very accommodating. Hands down one of the best backpackers I've stayed in (and I've stayed in far too many). Thanks, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RhiannasTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
7.8 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
0.9 km away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 27 in Picton
337 reviews
0.4 km away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 27 in Picton
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Villa Backpackers YHA Lodge
1 km away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#10 of 27 in Picton
60 reviews
4.4 km away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: €21 - €53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town and there are walking tracks just outside our door. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including organic fruit, herb & veggie garden, breakfast, juggling toys, workshops in a variety of circus and spinning skills (poi, hoop etc) unlimited wi-fi, bikes, log fire, quality book exchange, musical instruments, barbecue, well equipped kitchen with a huge array of herbs & spices, information/advice/bookings on local activities AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing