We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Rochelle Motel(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Village Inn(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Criterion Motel(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$94
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa Waterfront Motels(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Abri(Akaroa)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Gullies B&B(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park(Akaroa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
103
14
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
14
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgatekeepers cottageoutdoor baththe main houseopen firebabbling streamquaint cottagerest and relaxationnative bushfive minute drivehidden awaywonderful place to relaxdawn choruscomfortable bedreception areasurrounding countrysidefriendly hostsbeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Our stay at the Gatekeepers Cottage was very enjoyable and Wendy and Mark went out of their way to ensure that we got the best from our time in Akaroa. The location was rural whilst only a five minute drive from the centre of Akaroa.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Stunning hidden retreat, relaxed tasteful décor and a view out every window. Loved the birdsong and the native bush. Romantic, fabulous outdoor bath topped off a great weekend. The attention to detail of this restored cottage was a joy, we hope to be back to enjoy the fire in the winter.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the little cottage, there is also a B&B option at the house. The house is wonderfully restored with a beautiful big open fire. Just outside the back door is a babbling brook with friendly eel and native planting. A small bridge crosses the creek and a path meanders into the native bush where you will discover a wood fired bath. A great place to relax a night below the stars. 20 mins walk to Akaroa town.

My favorite get away

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank liveofftheland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

If you are looking for a romantic getaway for two - or just a wonderful escape from reality - Kokopu Cottage in Akaroa is absolutely magical. Part of the Kokopu Estate, friendly hosts Wendy & Mark live on site up the hill and after years of running this multi-site B&B accommodation destination, have the art of hosting down to a tee. The cottage itself is completely private, in a beautiful rustic garden setting next to a stream, and the unique outdoor bath and huge open fire in the cosy lounge are two absolute highlights. The decor is vintage-chic and staying here just feels like an absolute escape from the world! Conveniently located a 20min walk from central Akaroa with all it has to offer, I'd challenge you to find somewhere better to stay in the area! Highly recoommend.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MissLauraMay2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Time to check New Zealand off of our bucket list, and boy did we find just the right place to call home in Akaroa! It is your own little hide away surrounded by amazing beauty from our Gate Keepers cottage window, and the main part of the house as well. The real plus for us was that it was hidden away, cozy, comfortable, and a perfect home base for exploring the area. We were warmly welcomed, and enjoyed the opportunity to learn the story of how Kokopu came to be. The grounds in of themselves certainly spoke of the beauty of this part of the island. Pretty special to look out and see a full moon each night from our cottage window.

So if you are headed this direction make sure to book a stay at the Inn Keepers Cottage which is one of two options available on property.

Room Tip: Gate Keepers Cottage is a good first choice as there are two options on the estate.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews