We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akaroa on the Beach
Ranked #11 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Reviewed 21 November 2015

We recently stayed for 2 nights at Akaroa on the Beach with two other family couples and found the accommodation, location and views just wonderful. We had the seaview room, the island room and the penthouse room. We were all amazed at the large kitchen/dinning/lounge/large balcony area off the seaview apt and also the wonderful penthouse studio/kitchen/dinning/lounge/balcolyn area. The island room was a large studio unit with tea/coffee area. All apts shared the very equipped laundry area with washer/dryer/hanging rack/free washing powder. The house is well designed so that each apt can be individually rented, but because we were all family members (my sisters) we had an opened door policy during our stay. The house is very well equipped with heaps of cutlery, crockery, glasses and the other little things you don't expect. We were able to use the large BBQ on the balcolyn while enjoying the view of Akaroa harbour. The house is situated about 1.5 klms from the village of Akaroa by an easy walk or drive. We all agreed it was a wonderful end to our NZ holiday and it was only about a one and a half hour drive from Christchurch airport.

Room Tip: The penthouse studio is my favourite
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WarrenK652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Akaroa on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

One of my favourite places on the South Island , a definite must if you are travelling around. The French influence is evident, the cafes are lovely, and they are so friendly .
You could easily spend a day here. There are plenty of attractions and "swim with the Dolphins" is amazing.

Stayed: March 2015
2  Thank Kokomo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The room was really nice with clean linens and comfortable bedding. I liked the staff and they gave us privacy which was nice. I felt like I had a home away from home in New Zealand. Akaroa is so charming.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank californiagirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights over christmas, myself, husband and 2 teenage boys. The views were stunning, accommodation was brilliant. We stayed in the Island and Seaview rooms.Seaview Room is open plan leading onto a huge balcony. The kitchen is equipped with everything you would possibly need to cook or entertain. You only need to buy the food. Woke every morning to the sounds of birds chirping. Beautiful. Swam in the lake opposite. Would definately recommend. Ideal for a few families sharing. Only downside - we had this huge expanse of water at our doorstep but no water craft to utilize it with. Would have been handy to have kayaks or small dinghy on hand to use. You can hire them in town but with the water at your doorstep it would be handy to have them at your accommodation.

Room Tip: The Seaview is the centre of the house with stunning views.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2014

We stayed in the beachside apartment for two nights. The view is just wonderful. The apartment is fine, everything that you need, clean and tidy, with heaters in the rooms and extra blankets. The bed had some of the nicest bed linen I have ever come across in an apartment. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well.
You get your key from a lock box and phone for the combination. The beach is just across the road and the walk into the main parts of Akaroa is lovely - 10 minutes to the first set of shops etc.
I would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KTandCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.0 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
110 reviews
1.7 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
2.7 km away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
3.1 km away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
122 reviews
3.8 km away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa on the Beach

Address: 229 Beach Road, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: €81 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Akaroa on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Akaroa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing